We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great facilities, great value for money!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Farm Country Cottages
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We had a lovely time in Church Farm Country Cottages during the week between Easter and the Royal Wedding. The cottages are very well presented and the facilities provided are second to none. All of my guests thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Church Farm Country Cottages. Having the farm shop and the Seven Stars so close is also a real bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 62 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

I recently stayed at Moncrate Cottage and although the accommodation is clean and well maintained I was very very disappointed. We booked what we thought was a cottage, however the accommodation was so small we couldn't sit at the table without pushing the sofas against the walls. The walls themselves are so paper thin that my baby was woken up even when we whispered so we didn't get any sleep and we had a cranky baby all weekend. We had to decamp half of our party to nearby relatives as the accomodation was too cramped for a comfortable weekend.

I would have been happy with the accommodation if I had paid £270 but we paid £525 for two nights and I think that this is vastly overpriced. For the money we paid I expect a little bit of luxury but the kitchen doesn't even have a dishwasher, the floors are laminate, the sofas cheap and faux leather...yuck!!

I complained to the owners after our first night but nothing has been done as they are adamant that as there is a pool, the price is valid. If you like staying in what is no more than a brick caravan at 4 star hotel money then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veritydaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trish57horserugby, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear of your disappointments. We find your comments about Moncrate cottage a little difficult to understand given it is one of our most popular and liked properties. However, we respect the living area could be better utilised and we are currently working with an interior designer to consider this, along with various other elements in our cottages. Our pricing remains competitive in the local 4 star market. We are quality graded every year and comply well within this 4* bracket. You were staying in a 4 person cottage in peak season - with the cottage, our location and the facilities available, we consider the price to be fair. We aim to continue to delight and satisfy all our guests for years to come.

Best wishes,
Tim
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

These cottages are great to stay in to get away from it all. We loved:
the arrival cream tea
the games room for rainy days
the very hot swimming pool
the local farm shop
We weren't so keen on:
the distance from anywhere
the very slow service at the local, Seven Stars, even if the food was great
More for young families who need space to run around or older couples getting away

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Me and my partner received superb service when arriving and were given a little tour of the place. The rooms were clean and big enough for what we wanted to do; felt like our own little home. We loved the swimming pool and games room, were in there nearly every night! Was the best holiday ever...after all my boyfriend proposed to me! Burys cottage is just so romantic :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smilergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Booked a four night break at £595 which is fairly steep for the size of accomodation, the lounge and combined kitchen area felt cramped, had to move the sofa in order to put four chairs around the table. No bath, only shower and no dishwasher. However the pool and games room facilities looked great and given our British tendency to inclement weather (which indeed it was) I had booked in order that we may enjoy these facilities. Although it does say on the web-site that in term time swimming lessons last for several hours, we were very disappointed to find that the advertised opening times of the pool for residents was not exclusive and was shared with school children and their mums. Although strangely, the pool was shut to residents from mid-morning until mid-afternoon so that an outside babies swimming club could have exclusive use! We could'nt even use the games room as the mums used it as their changing room and so table-tennis table etc was packed away. We did feel that residents should have exclusive use of the pool for the greater part of the day. We found ourselves sitting waiting for the pool to open for residents whilst private baby swimming classes went on and then when we finally were allowed in we were being asked to stay down one end of the pool so that the school kids could have their swim!
On a more positive note theHartley Farm shop was really good and we enjoyed eating there immensely and it was very reasonable.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Otter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trish57horserugby, Guest Relations Manager at Church Farm Country Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Delighted to hear you enjoyed the farm shop service. Sorry to hear your were not fully satisfied with your stay, however. We are working with an interior designer in order to utilise the space in Moncrate cottage but it remains as one of our most popular and liked cottages.

Regarding the pool, we do list our opening times up on the website, in our correspondence and around the cottages and facilities. I'm sorry if you did not get to see these. The waterbabies classes close the pool for around 5hrs in midweek days, in term time only. There are 5-8 hours outside of these hours for our cottage guests to use, exclusively. This increases in the summer months. It remains to be a big hit with our guests.

Best wishes,
Tim
Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We go to Church Farm twice a year and have stayed for weekends with children and without.

It's ideally located being so near to Bath with beautiful walks close by.

Winsley the village where Church Farm is fantastic with a great pub and a super farm shop near by with a cafe (so basically you don't need to leave the village to shop)

The owners are welcoming and have excellant local knowledge. We had a problem working the DVD and they came down and paitently gave instructions with some added humour!

Other thing to mention is the fantastic indoor pool at church farm and games room!!
We love Church Farm and will be returning next year with friends!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

We have just returned from a half term break staying in Vellum Stone cottage. It was clean, cosy and well equipped, we received a friendly welcome and tour of the facilities-the fresh cream tea was a lovely bonus. We visited Bath, Longleat, Stonhegne and Wookey Hole all within reasonable distance. The owners were always polite and helpful, we had a glitch with the heating and they had it sorted immediately and checked that we happy. Very prompt and efficient. Thank you so much for a wonderful break it was just what we needed and we will recommend wholeheartedly to anyone to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winds22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winsley
1.0 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 34 in Bath
207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Hinton Charterhouse
748 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Farm Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Farm Country Cottages

Address: Winsley | Bradford on Avon, Winsley BA15 2JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Winsley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Winsley
Price Range: $158 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Church Farm Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run single storey farm cottages tastefully converted from old cow byres with beams and vaulted ceilings. Working sheep farm in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Superb indoor heated swimming pool and games room. Three 2-person cottages and four 4-person cottages. Also 12-person four star gold award barn, The Old Granary (5 bedrooms/3 bathrooms) 3/4 mile. Ample free parking. Free Wifi. Individual patios with own garden furniture and shared garden. 24hour Laundry room. Village pub, The Seven Stars, serving good food and local ales 500 metres. Hartley Farm Shop and kitchen on neighbouring farm. Regular buses and train stations at Bradford on Avon (2 miles) and Bath (5 miles). Weekend, Midweek and weekly stays. Minimum two night stay at weekend. Welcome cream tea on arrival. Families, Pets, Cyclists and Walkers welcome. Gold Green Tourism award. Book online. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Farm Country Cottages Hotel Bradford-On-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing