We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, Peaceful, An Absolute gem !”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kingfisher Lodge

Kingfisher Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge Lounge Kingfisher Lodge Hot Tub.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge Lounge
Kingfisher Lodge Hot Tub.
Carp Fishing
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge Kitchen
Kingfisyher Lodge Kitchen
Kingfisher Lodge Hot Tub
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge Main Bedroom/En-Suite
Kingfisher Lodge Twin Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Buckland Brewer, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ibster
UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful, An Absolute gem !”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We managed to book this lodge at the last minute and we were not disappointed ! The Lodge is nestled inside a small valley a couple of miles from Buckland Brewer, there are a total of 4 lodges on site, each spaced out from the other so privacy is not an issue. We were given a warm welcome by Richard and Elaine and left to enjoy the beautiful lodge and surroundings for a whole week. The lodge itself was spotless and very well maintained. The hot tub is an added bonus and is treated daily by the owners. The open plan layout of the lodge was perfect and the bedrooms were also a good size. The master bedroom has an en-suite and the main bathroom also has a shower cubicle, The cabin literally sits on the lake and we enjoyed feeding the ducks and the fish regularly. The amount of birds in the area is also amazing and we were lucky to catch a glimpse of the kingfisher as well ! There is an area of woodland behind the lodges as well which has a small river running through it. The children spent many an hour exploring the woods and even saw a deer there.

We felt well rested after a week, away from all the noise and hustle and bustle of the city, this was the perfect place to wind down. You can do absolutley nothing there if you wish and enjoy the hot tub and surrounding or there are many places you can visit. We visited Woolacombe beach which was about 40 minutes away, the Tarka Bike trail is also only about 15 minutes away which is an excellent place to cycle. We also managed to visit the Valley of the Rocks in Lynmouth and also cycled the Granite way in Dartmoor.

All in all, it was an excellent place for us to come back to after a days activities and also a place where we did spend a couple of days enjoying the facilities. Hopefully we will be back soon.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2016
It was a pleasure to have you and your family at Valleyview Lakes and Lodges. Thank you for your kind review for our Kingfisher lodge, and are delighted that you had a great time. We hope to see you all again in the future.
All the best,

Richard, Elaine and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paigemich...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Secret Getaway! REBOOKED!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in July 2015

this is one of the most amazing places i have ever stayed!, it is peaceful (no phone reception), beautiful sounds, pretty views and i loved walking through the woods along tree trunks and wooden bridges. it is in the perfect secret location and the owners are a pleasure to be around. We had the place to ourself last time and it was prefect, im due to go back in 4 weeks for another fantastic week for my 21st Birthday!! :)

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2016
Thanks for your kind comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorkesaur...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect and Relaxing”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed at Heron lodge (next to Kingfisher) for a week in November and couldn't fault it. The lodge was perfect, really comfy, warm, super clean and felt like home instantly. The view over the lake is stunning, especially from the hot tub! We loved feeding the ducks and watching the various birds, Including the kingfisher while sat on the veranda.

Richard and Elaine were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful, they also offered us use of fishing rods if we wanted. The lodges are accessed by narrow country lanes, however it was easy enough to travel to places of interest nearby.

We loved our stay at the lodge and felt like we were on holiday for longer as we were so relaxed. We'd love to come back and stay again in the future for another relaxing break.

Date of stay: November 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2014
Thanks for your kind words, we are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday at Valleyview.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarasnoop
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxation”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Many thanks Elaine and Richard for a totally relaxing week didn't want to leave, this place is perfect for just winding down and is so peaceful. Highly recommended.... Can't wait to come back .....

Date of stay: April 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2014
Hi,
Glad that you enjoyed your stay at Valleyview Lakes and Lodges.
Look forward to meeting you again on your next visit.
Regards

Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oggdog195...
wellington somerset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A PRiVATE PIECE OF HEAVEN”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

having just returned from a 4 day break staying in Kingfisher lodge just had to write a few words.Firstly what great hosts Richard and Elaine are, they are so warming and friendly.
The cabin is so big and spacious, everything you need including the fantastic Hot Tub which is covered for those rainy evenings.the views from each window is spectacular overlooking the carp lake.
This is one piece of heaven you should go and grab before it is too late, do miss it
The fishing is brilliant even in the rain and wind we have just had
Please support what Richard ans Elaine are doing its the place to go

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hot tub and fishing
Liked least: there was nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Many thanks for your comments. I am glad that you all enjoyed yourselves despite the rain. We both hope to see you back at Valleyview soon.
Best Regards Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chriscass...
Easingwold, United Kingdom
1 review
“A tranquil relaxing break”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We only spent a couple of days here but we found even in this short time thanks to the outstanding views of the surroundings and the comfortable lodge we were able to fully relax and unwind. Wildlife was abundant around the lodge and added to the interest of our stay. The lodge was very well equipped, however we felt we would have benefitted from local maps and perhaps a book on walking in the area. All in all though a great place for a countryside getaway.

Date of stay: January 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2014
Thanks for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniversa...
notts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a find... The lodge is situated in a quiet valley about 20mins from Bideford.The views from the lodge are fantastic.The lounge and bedrooms overlook the lake -a bird watchers paradise.We saw kingfishers,nuthatches,bull finches,black caps and blue tits.We thought that the location was ideal for exploring Appledore, Clovelly,Westward Ho,Woolacombe Bay and Bude.The lodge was very comfortable , modern,clean,well equipped and overlooks a tranquil fishing lake with carp ,tench ,golden orf and roach.Fishing rights are exclusive for residents of the four lodges.My husband enjoyed fishing each evening whilst I relaxed in the hot tub on the balcony overlooking the lake.Bliss. Richard and Elaine are the hosts and are on hand to give friendly help and advice without being intrusive.Highly recommended.We would definitely return.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the lodge
Liked least: Narrow Devon lanes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Valleyview Lakes and Lodges. We hope that you will return for another visit soon.

Regards

Richard and Elaine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing