We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but good quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2009

it´s a good hotel, clean and quiet, centrical to visit salem, newbury, peabody but it's so far of boston.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kukasamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 792 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2008

Overall a good place to stay, despite the difficulty getting to the property. Staff was very helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and well-maintained but the floor in the hallway needed more attentive vacuuming.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank csccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

Upon arrival the outside doors to the lobby jammed and that about summed up the stay.

Specific problems included a bathroom that had mold around the soap holder in the shower, they did clean it when asked; a lobby bathroom that must have been 100 degrees, and elevators that were slow and at times only one worked.

Overall the cleanliness of the hotel was fine; but I would give low marks to the following: staff, (apathetic, for example we never got the extra towels we requested), the breakfast : nothing special, the fitness room: lacked even a set of dumbbells, road noise: excessive as you are right on route one. Oh, and the power in our room went out briefly just as we were leaving.

Bottom line if you can stay at one of the other hotels nearby you may wish to do so.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sre61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This hotel is located approx 5 miles from Salem, 12 miles from the airport and around 13 miles from downtown Boston. We had free parking and hot breakfast. Both very nice pluses. The pool was open from 9AM - 9PM but the staff offered to let us go into it later if we promised to stay quite. The staff by the way was very nice and extremely informative about the area. The room was a decent size with a comfy chair, 2 double beds, desk, chair, TV, dresser, nice size bathroom with coffee maker. My only complaint might be the double beds. Even though they were soft and had about 5 pillows on each bed, a double is just too small when your used to a queen. Over all, we had a lovely stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mudballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed here for a wedding in Lynn, MA. Overall the hotel is nice and clean. The only issues we had was only one of the two elevators were working. The hallways and elevators were so hot you would break a sweat when walking out of room. For the free breakfast, I was traveling with an 18 mos old and there were many other families there as well. They only have one high chair in the building and its first come first serve which was an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank doublemnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Good location, close to Salem. Great building, beatiful indoor pool. But too many smoking rooms, and poor staff (below average for Hampton Inns).

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Balny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

I stayed at the hotel for 3 days and here is what I feel. First the good things, The price is good and its not that far from downtown. The staff is very friendly and courteous and the breakfast is good. and yeah it has a nice indoor pool and an average fitness center.

As some people have said, it is easy to miss the turn for the hotel. It comes right after the exit for I95 on route 1. very easy to miss and difficult to reach once you miss it. You have to go a long way and turn around a couple of times. Lucky I had a gps and had not much problem. you can ignore this if you carry a GPS.

Second, The corridors had a strange stuffy smell. Kind of stale cigarette smoke. Thats strange because mine was a non-smoking room. The room itself was fresh and clean.

Most importantly as I found out with bitter experience, It seems the area around the hotel was not very safe. I went to a restaurant about 400 yards from the hotel and somebody broke into my car by breaking the window glass and stole my GPS (at 8 in the evening in the parking lot). Funny part is when I told the people around, no one seemed to be surprised. as I later learnt, it seems there were atleast 3 other such incidents in the past week or two.

On the whole I would have given it a rating of 3 if it was not a hampton. I stayed at lot of hampton inns and this is definitely sub par for one.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank random_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peabody
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
1.9 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston-Peabody
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus North Shore Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody

Address: 59 Newbury St, Peabody, MA 01960-3820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range: $84 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn/Boston Peabody is located on Route 1 at the junction of Routes 95 and 93 about 25 minutes north of Downtown Boston. Our hotel offers all the great amenities that Hampton Inn Hotels are known for including complimentary wireless in all guest rooms and public space, complimentary hot breakfast and our new Jump Start Fitness exercise room. Our indoor heated pool is available from 9:00am to 9:00pm daily and we offer, upon request, rooms with either a king size bed or two doubles. Most rooms with king size beds offer a pull out couch for your convenience. We hope to welcome you soon to our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Boston - Peabody Hotel Peabody
Hampton Inn Peabody
Peabody Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing