We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Definitely NOT RECOMMENDED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most Definitely NOT RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I'll give the positive first:

* WiFi works when I leave my room.
* Hot water arrives in about five minutes.
* Lobby areas and guest room bathrooms look like they have been updated in the last ten years.

Now the bad:

* Crappy WiFi reception inside the guest room.
* Terrible service at the breakfast room. The two staff members ignored me completely for fifteen minutes while I stood there. I counted 16 tables filled with trash and food left-overs of customers who had finished half an hour earlier. No one bothered to clean the tables off. The staff failed to keep the buffet full of food. Imagine going up to the buffet for the first time and not having anything to select - empty food trays.
* WORST OF ALL: Life safety features like fire doors at emergency exit stairwells are broken. The door handles are falling off. This is crazy!!! If the building burned and the handles fell off, people can die.

Definitely don't go to this hotel. Use the power of the free market to shut this place down. The place needs to fail so that someone else can come in and manage it correctly - and SAFELY.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EUROMONKEYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    100
    105
    49
    42
See reviews for
128
87
15
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our stay started out pretty rough. We had booked a "flow room", but had confirmed a week before with "Alan" that it was a standard room which should have been a single king. Upon checking in, turned out we got two doubles(pretty silly when travelling with a girlfriend). Went to the front desk and asked to be moved to a king. They were fully booked, and we had to wait til one opened(understandable). That night, our AC decided to stop cooling, and kept making a very audible clicking belt noise. We called the front desk, and a maintenance guy did come up, but complained right in front of us about the management not wanting to upgrade/replace the old "junk" units. Luckily, after smacking it a few times, it worked through out the night. The 2nd day, I went down to check on switching rooms, but was informed that they were out of rooms again, so we had to spend ANOTHER night in a room with a very tempremental AC. Each time I spoke to the front desk, I was met with rudeness, and a very uncaring attitude. Ashley, I believe it was, even had the audacity to cop an attitude with my girlfriend before even asking what was wrong by letting out a very loud sigh when she saw us coming up, then telling us "it wasn't her problem". She alone will be the reason that we will not be booking this hotel if we travel to Boston again.

In any event, luckily on the 3rd day, we were able to get switched to a king, with a working(and quiet) AC unit and the rest of our stay was uneventful. The pool is very nice, the beds are quite comfortable, the bathrooms clean and pretty. Overall, as I listed above, we would not stay here again, but you can take your chances that the front desk is a bit more polite when you get there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RealGeorgeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peabody hotels

Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
308 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This facility is situated on a busy stretch of Route 1, but set back from the road noise. The rooms were very clean and comfortable (especially the bed pillows). The cleaning crew was dependable and friendly. Our reservation, made two months in advance, were problematic from the start. A day or two after taking my credit card information for my reservation, I realized they never asked me for a name and address! I called back, gave them the reservation number, and they said "Oh yeah - look at that - no name and address!" After correcting that, they asked if I wanted to receive a written confirmation. I never did. Not even an email one. When we showed up on our supposed day 1 of a 3 night stay, they had given our room away, saying we were a "No Show" the day before. Fortunately they had a doiuble bedded room available (not the king we reserved) and that worked out OK. Breakfast at the adjoining cafe the next day showed us that they didn't have enough wait staff to meet the need, all of the guests were complaining about the poor service, and the food was just OK. Moral of the story: demand a reservation confirmation, and eat breakfast elsewhere! The hotel itself is very nice.

Room Tip: Demand a reservation confirmation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Blanchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Overall, our experience at this location, as well as other Holiday Inns has been very pleasant. The rooms were clean, well stocked with towels/toiletries, and comfortable. For the price, you won't find a better deal. The only negative of our stay here was the exit on to the highway. It was difficult to turn on to the highway at times since the exit of the hotel is adjacent to a highway exit. Otherwise the location is great, since it is close to both Boston and Salem.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollywoodKen481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2011

The hotel was clean comfortable and staff went out of their way to make it a wonderful stay The staff in the A.M. for our breakfast buffet was great and the food was great. The front desk staff were very helpful. Stephen in group sales was wonderful and went out of his way to make it a memorable stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: book early ask for room away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake52687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ne, Italy
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Internet was slow as a snail. <50Kbps (slower than dial-up!!). Couldn't get any work done with internet that slow.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mn3400b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Like most other Horriday Inns, this one failed to meet expectations. The hotel was old (a Holiday Inn trademark), the room door flimsy, and the door lock mechanism practically falling apart. The door frames have no padding between the door and frame, so one can constantly hear slamming and vibrating doors.

No hot water one morning, so had to take a shower with freezing cold water.

The desk chairs have no back support, recline so far that they feel like a mechanical bull, are not adjustable, and are totally unacceptable for anyone who needs to sit and do work for more than five minutes. I can't understand why a hotel would buy 100+ desk chairs that were probably expensive but designed by a complete idiot. A simple, standard, black, fake leather manager's chair can be purchased for under $40 and is actually comfortable.

Most hotels (e.g. Residence Inn, Fairfield Inn, etc.) have 24 hour free coffee and tea, but of course Holiday Inns are too cheap and run down to have this.

Some of the towels were obviously dirty, and the sink had several pieces of hair in it when I checked into the room.

Internet was incredibly SLOW.

Some of the housekeepers were nasty.

To sum up, this was a hotel that disappointed my expectations and did not meet the everyday business traveler's standards for cleanliness, comfort, and convenience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierreMerhej, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Dear JMJ:

Judging from the issues you have raised, it seems to me that you might be mistaken as to which hotel you are reviewing, I mean that with all seriousness.

Our hotel has been completly renovated about a year ago, our desk chairs are ergonomic and do not recline back and we do serve complimentary coffee daily from 6:00 am until 11:00 am. As for the cleanliness issue and the towels, we take great pride in that area. I honestly feel that you have the wrong hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peabody
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
5.5 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
2.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Address: 1 Newbury St, US 1 N & US 128 N, Peabody, MA 01960-3846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Boston - Peabody is conveniently located between Downtown Boston and Logan International Airport and the historical coastal towns North of Boston. Whether you are enticed by the quaint seaport villages of nearby Salem, Gloucester, and Marblehead or the excitement of Boston's Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Freedom Trail, and Fenway Park, the Holiday Inn Peabody is the ideal location to experience all that New England has to offer. Our hotel is now completely smoke-free and renovations are scheduled for completion later this spring. This Boston North Shore hotel will feature 183 newly refurbished guestrooms, including 20 two-room suites. All rooms and suites are equipped with 27' televisions and high speed Internet access. Suites include kitchenettes with mini-refrigerator and microwave and living area with sleep sofa. Unwind in our indoor pool, outdoor courtyard or work out in our fully-equipped fitness center. When hunger strikes, Carrabba's Italian Grill where you can enjoy a casual dinner in a warm, festive environment, the menu offers a variety of freshly made dishes cooked to order in a lively exhibition kitchen. For meetings and social events, our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups from 5-450 people. Ample free parking is available for cars as well as buses. Enjoy ease of access from I-93, I-95, Logan airport (BOS), and Boston's many area colleges for graduation weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Boston-Peabody
Holiday Inn Peabody
Peabody Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing