We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Holiday Inn dump”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Like most other Horriday Inns, this one failed to meet expectations. The hotel was old (a Holiday Inn trademark), the room door flimsy, and the door lock mechanism practically falling apart. The door frames have no padding between the door and frame, so one can constantly hear slamming and vibrating doors.

No hot water one morning, so had to take a shower with freezing cold water.

The desk chairs have no back support, recline so far that they feel like a mechanical bull, are not adjustable, and are totally unacceptable for anyone who needs to sit and do work for more than five minutes. I can't understand why a hotel would buy 100+ desk chairs that were probably expensive but designed by a complete idiot. A simple, standard, black, fake leather manager's chair can be purchased for under $40 and is actually comfortable.

Most hotels (e.g. Residence Inn, Fairfield Inn, etc.) have 24 hour free coffee and tea, but of course Holiday Inns are too cheap and run down to have this.

Some of the towels were obviously dirty, and the sink had several pieces of hair in it when I checked into the room.

Internet was incredibly SLOW.

Some of the housekeepers were nasty.

To sum up, this was a hotel that disappointed my expectations and did not meet the everyday business traveler's standards for cleanliness, comfort, and convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierreMerhej, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Dear JMJ:

Judging from the issues you have raised, it seems to me that you might be mistaken as to which hotel you are reviewing, I mean that with all seriousness.

Our hotel has been completly renovated about a year ago, our desk chairs are ergonomic and do not recline back and we do serve complimentary coffee daily from 6:00 am until 11:00 am. As for the cleanliness issue and the towels, we take great pride in that area. I honestly feel that you have the wrong hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 404 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at the Peabody Holiday Inn last weekend. It is rated as a 3 star hotel on Priceline and they accepted a good rate.

The room was clean and quiet. Our room was not on the street side, but overlooked the back parking lot. Check in and check out were quick and efficient.

The sheets were soft and comfy. I am so glad that hotels are getting away from Vellux blankets and slippery bedspreads!

Someone had left the heat on high so the room was stifling intially, but we switched it to AC and it was fine very quickly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthernMainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Stayed at the hotel and called ahead to ask if they had bed bugs. They advised me that they did not. When we arrived at the room they had some commercial air flow machine activated on the floor. Since we heard that hotels typically cover up the smell of bed bugs with deodorizers we thought this machine was assisting. The front desk told us they had no idea what the machine was for and there were no bed bugs. About a week later I had a bunch of bites on my legs. A bed bug sniffing dog confirmed our worst fears. I called the hotel on a Saturday and was advised by the hotel manager that he would call me back by the close of business on Monday. Still waiting for his call. A week after that I called corporate and I'm still waiting for the call back from an investigator! I called another week after that and still noting. I honestly believe I brought bed bugs home from this hotel and now they will not even return a phone call. The Holiday Inn clearly does not take customer service seriously!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thew8511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PierreMerhej, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Dear Sir:

upon receipt of your concern we immediatey called in our pest control company( nationally recognized) and provided you with a detailed report with their findings ( Via email), the room was 100% free of bed bugs, even tho you have the copy of the inspection, and noone else that has occupied that room has reported any bites or concern, you insist that you were bitten here, I will be more than happy to send you that inspection report a second time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

It was fine for one night. Staff was friendly and pleasant. Room was ok. Restaurant next door. Indoor heated pool was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnPeabody, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to share you experience at our hotel. We welcome your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We paid $177.00 for a single room, king size bed. The carpets in the room had dark stains all over them...alll over them; it made the room feel dirty. When we pulled down the blankets to sleep, there were long black hairs stuck several places throughout the sheets. The sheets had not been changed, When we walked to our room there was a broken refridgerator that was stuck in the hallway along with a bunch of trash and room service trays . Those items stayed there our entire stay. It just made me feel like I was a high priced crack hotel. The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful, but the room was too nasty for me. It looked run down, dirty and I like clean sheets.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmella2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Desk clerk was very friendly and went out of his way to acknowledge our Priority Club Platinum member status and as usual, we were upgraded to a very nice suite.

The chain hotel next connected to the hotel was busy so we ordered it as room service - very nice touch to enjoy an evening in after a long day in airports and before we headed north to Maine.

The rooms were clean and very well kept.

No complaints!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vtxriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Virtually everyone in my wedding party stayed at this hotel, and everyone liked it. I am surprised at the negative reviews I see here as our 5 day stay was quite nice. (Noted several comments about remodeling...that's done now). Staff was pleasant and very helpful. I'd stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tdc2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peabody
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
2.1 mi away
Boston Marriott Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus North Shore Hotel
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston-Peabody
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Boston - Logan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody

Address: 1 Newbury St, Us 1 N & Us 128 N, Peabody, MA 01960-3846
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Peabody
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Peabody
Price Range: $84 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Boston - Peabody is conveniently located between Downtown Boston and Logan International Airport and the historical coastal towns North of Boston. Whether you are enticed by the quaint seaport villages of nearby Salem, Gloucester, and Marblehead or the excitement of Boston's Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Freedom Trail, and Fenway Park, the Holiday Inn Peabody is the ideal location to experience all that New England has to offer. Our hotel is now completely smoke-free and renovations are scheduled for completion later this spring. This Boston North Shore hotel will feature 183 newly refurbished guestrooms, including 20 two-room suites. All rooms and suites are equipped with 27' televisions and high speed Internet access. Suites include kitchenettes with mini-refrigerator and microwave and living area with sleep sofa. Unwind in our indoor pool, outdoor courtyard or work out in our fully-equipped fitness center. When hunger strikes, Carrabba's Italian Grill where you can enjoy a casual dinner in a warm, festive environment, the menu offers a variety of freshly made dishes cooked to order in a lively exhibition kitchen. For meetings and social events, our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups from 5-450 people. Ample free parking is available for cars as well as buses. Enjoy ease of access from I-93, I-95, Logan airport (BOS), and Boston's many area colleges for graduation weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Boston-Peabody
Holiday Inn Peabody
Peabody Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing