We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great fresh seafood food served at the bar and restaurant is tops”

Century House Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 164 Restaurants in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shapleigh, Maine
Level Contributor
358 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“great fresh seafood food served at the bar and restaurant is tops”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I find the food here is always fresh, prices are great and very good quality and quantity is sometimes a little too much and you don't have room for their great desserts, maybe that is not a bad thing but desserts are also very good and some are home made. The place is always busy and you may find a wait if you go during busy hours of lunch or dinner. There is an older crowd here many times at lunch because they know a good thing when they see it and this may be their main meal of the day. They also have Mass Lottery in the bar so people can have lunch and fun at the same time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEShapleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    51
    36
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is one of my "Go To" places, great drinks and always a good meal. Our favorite is the Prime Rib Special on Tuesdays, $13.99 a nice sized piece of prime rib cooked just the way you like it, for my husband a med-well end cut for me med-rare thank you! It comes with two sides (potato, rice, vegetable or salad) and rolls and butter. The rolls are just so- so, I'd skip them and save room for the prime rib. They run daily specials, check the website for details.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank satellitesue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first time going to the Century House. We both ordered the turkey dinner off the luncheon menu and it was very good, thick slices of turkey and I really liked the stuffing which had crunchy celery in it. My only complaint was that it was rather cold inside and I had to keep my jacket on despite being directly across from a small fireplace, could have been we were too close to the door. Our waitress, Paula was wonderful, attentive and friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Often go to the tavern for a good size Cosmo and play a few games of keno. Last week had a filet mignon with a choice of twi for $17. The meat was cooked perfect and was very tender. When I have out of state visitors we will take them to breakfast in the main dinning room. Large variety for a good price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank riverview48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad outing and never returning.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Didn't know they had a special called cigarette soup, Ordered a soup and salad and go to eat the soup and there is a cigarette butt inside the soup, Never go to this joint again, Ask for a manager and Nobody is around. Avoid this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Century House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing