We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regulars hangout”

Century House Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 164 Restaurants in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A regulars hangout”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Century House has always had a good reputation and fairly good food. I have been there more than a handful of times but I find the darkness, (and it is very dark) quite depressing. I only go there to meet a friend of mine who is a senior citizen that likes it there because that is where all the seniors go. It is a great place for the older crowd to meet. They love it there. If dark restaurants don't bother you then try it. The food is pretty good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank judgeelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    51
    36
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, MA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well loved”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a very popular place to eat and the bar is usually crowded so if you want to go for lunch or dinner get there early. Some of their dishes are excellent and they have a very full menu so enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank MagicLadyMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I ate at Century House this past Saturday. We were very pleased. We arrived around 5:15 and were seated immediately in a booth big enough for six. (When we left at 6:30 there was a long waiting line.)
I had the rack of lamb. Seven chops cooked as ordered and very tasty. The rice pilaf was okay. The side salad was very good.
My wife had seafood alfredo which was very good but probably loaded with calories as it was very creamy. We were surprised at the large chunks of lobster.
The meal came with a bean dip and cottage cheese dip with crackers. Also some rolls and wonderful cinnamon rolls which the waitress packed up to take home (for breakfast she said.)
We also took home half of my wife's alfredo which was enough for 2 or 3 folks.
The coffee was just okay. We didn't have dessert but the menu was extensive and looked tempting.
The whole menu was extensive with a good selection of wines and beers and cocktails.
All in all it was a good experience and the price was exceptional...low.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Martini's!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Love the Tavern for dinner and Cosmos! Food and Drinks are fairly priced. Cindy who tends the back bar is the BEST!! Keno is Fun but it is very busy and hard to get seats. I think they should have a number system for the seats!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jewel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tradition”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a lovely restaurant.....Century House is like a landmark in the area. Fine dining without the expense. All the entrees are delectable...usually I have lobster or a delicious steak. As for an appetizer...try the scallops wrapped in bacon. Once you dine at the Century House you will want to return time after time.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SherrySnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Century House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Century House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing