We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh seafood”
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 165 Restaurants in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt 114 & 128
Description: The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish. Seafood Nation loves our outpost in Peabody, at the junction of Routes 128 and 114. Those traveling to and from the beaches in Cape Ann are known to jump ship for some fresh catch. And those considering a fishing trip, visit us instead. Legal Sea Foods has long proven that a consistent, high quality dining experience never goes out of style. With over 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish available throughout the year as well as an award-winning wine list, there’s no doubt why legions of fans have fallen hook, line and sinker. We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Boston Phoenix, 2009) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“fresh seafood”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had been eating at Legal Seafood every now and then. Last week, we went to the Legal Seafood in Burlington mall. We had sashimi, raw oysters and other fish and shrimp dishes. We all happy with our dishes. The food was tasty and fresh. But it was a little pricy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soxblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    64
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If it's fresh....how about, if it's CLEAN!!??”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to Legal's Sea Foods -- located at the Northshore Mall in Peabody, MA -- for a fresh fish lunch the other day, looking forward to the same usual and delicious stand-bys I have come to expect from Legal's: clam chowder, fish and chips with cole slaw, a cuppa tea, etc.

Decided to try a fish sandwich, for a change, with a side of broccoli and cheese, skipping the bun and tartar sauce, to make for a healthier meal. It was all quite yummy, until I happened to turn my tea cup around.... I looked at my cup of tea, and noticed it was stained with dried, brown smudges, dripping down the outside and along the rim of the cup! It did NOT make for a good feeling in the tummy, wondering what kind of bacteria had been lurking there!

The manager was rather cavalier about the whole matter, claiming that these were just tea stains and the dishwasher must have not been working properly. Small comfort! She told me that she threw away the cup, and proceeded to comp me for my chowder and tea. When I went to pay the remainder of the bill, I asked the kindly and sympathetic waiter for a glass of water before I left. To my dismay, I found gray drip stains on this proffered glass rim, as well! I decided to leave well enough alone, and head home for any further libations.

Here's hoping that Legal's can get their dishwashers repaired and in good working order soon, or this regular will be looking elsewhere for fresh AND clean!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWhiteRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never disappointing”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Sat at the bar with a friend and had cocktails with some oysters and mussels; all good- The menu calls the oyster "Oysters Legal," breaded, and the mussels in garlic sauce were fabulous!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dewin142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire, 03820 USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Mother & Son's Birthday dinner”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Mother turned 90 years of age. Me 63. We both had the Cioppino. Just fabulous. She ate the whole thing, rice & bread also. Even the waiter complimented her on her great apatite. She commented back " no trouble when it's this darned good. Can't wait to go there & have the Cioppino again, soon. Great job Legal staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank heylimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food Great prices”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had the shrimp casserole and it was real good but if your hungry order an appetizer before your meal I also ordered a side salad and for $5.95 it was not worth it. My wife had the Annie's baked scrod and she loved it. Overall the seafood here is top notch but the prices are also top notch also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing