We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh shellfish near our B&B”
Review of Land and Sea

Land and Sea
Ranked #29 of 165 Restaurants in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Crownsville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh shellfish near our B&B”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Delicious, inexpensive, casual. Everything is fried so you can't eat there every day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeanine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food is good, but I don't need criticism with my fries....”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We get food here at least once a week. Good basic fried food, lobster roll, homemade cole slaw. Often call for takeout. Today the phone person was rude. I said I would like to "pick up" an order, to which she responded smugly, "How about if you place the order first?" Seriously? We will take our business elsewhere. I still like polite civility with my business dollars. I think if we as customers, accept less, then standards will keep going down. Peabody is full of small family- owned businesses which provide good food and good service. Tasty Foods, here we come, I'm going where they treat their "regulars" with friendly appreciation!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“If you want authentic fried seafood and some of the best onion rings”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Land and Sea is a Peabody landmark. In business since 1972, there's over a generation of people who stop by here for fried haddock, clams, onion rings, roast beef sandwiches, etc. We haven't been there for awhile but we had to grab some food for a friend so we thought it would be a good stop to make.

My better half and our friend got fried haddock with fries and slaw. The fish was tasty, moist, and hot. The fries and slaw were... well, fries and slaw.

I got the chicken fingers and onion rings. When I ordered, the person at the counter asked if I wanted processed chicken or "real chicken." I chose the real chicken, which was hot, moist, and just right. It was served with some tubes of nameless "duck sauce" which was watery but still "did the job."

This is not -- repeat not -- a classic "sit down" restaurant that has any hopes of a romantic atmosphere. This is more of the New England fast food type of restaurant -- not dirty, but not where you want to bring a special date unless he or she really likes fried food. It is very family friendly, though it gets a bit pricey if you have a big clan to feed.

In summary, if you are in the area, hungry, and want some fried food and some of the best onion rings in the area, this is a good stop to make.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DieselDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OMG - I dream about this when I am away”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Simply the best fried clams EVER. No really, EVER. Sometimes I come all the way from Colorado - just to eat here. (I pretend to be visiting my family, but really, a box of clams and a lobster roll - oh and I'll take a roast beef sandwich to go.

The locals already know, but if you are visiting? GO HERE FOR DINNER! You won't regret it. It is affordable, fresh, and the best food you will ever eat!

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank KOinDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
891 reviews
521 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Not pretty but good food”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is a local seafood restaurant that focuses on the food as opposed to decor. It is obviously a converted fast food restaurant as the dining area has not changed from its former life. I'm still trying to figure out which chain it replaced.

I had the fried clams, which were the purpose of my visit. I enjoy the whole belly clams, which are not available in my area. They did not disappoint. They were fresh and hot and were served with fries and slaw.

For a fast and very casual meal, I'd go back.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank hbhakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Land and Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing