We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Chinese!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Su Chang's

Su Chang's
Ranked #5 of 163 Restaurants in Peabody
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classic Chinese!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent food. Nothing exotic, but always well prepared. Usually quite busy as its location on Lowell street is convenient. North Shore standard for classic chinese food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MitziMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    41
    9
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
143 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've eaten here many times in the past and have always enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. last week I ate here with my husband and the drinks and service were top notch and for the most part the food was very good. The spring rolls were delicious but some of the other items on the appetizer platter were just so so. We also had the salt and pepper shrimp, beef with peppers and onions and fried rice all were yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank satellitesue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were very hungry and staying in Peabody the night before we were to fly home. We came upon this restaurant and saw the crowd and assumed they had good food! The service was excellent and the food great. We do not eat Chinese often so we had the waiter help us with the menu. I do not remember what we ordered but it was very good. Very nice atmosphere, beautifully decorated with linen table cloths. Highly recommend if in the area!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bamasattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best chinese food on North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

There are so many places to eat Chinese food and this is by far the best. It is freshly cooked and tastes great. The restaurant does not have vinyl booths! Matter of fact it's all linen covered tables! There is a nice bar if you want a cocktail. The restaurant has two dining areas and an upstairs for private events. Appetizers are delicious. There is a wide assortment of entrees to choose from. Prices are typical for a Chinese restaurant, very reasonable. Staff is friendly with great service. If the owner is there she will come welcome you and assist you if she can. Love this place!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teenie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“China Town North”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Its the best place on the North Shore hands down. Always clean and organized. The decor is warm and welcoming by all means. The food is prepared very delicate and there is not a dish and I have tried many that I feel is greasy. The Crab Rangoon and the Scalion Pancakes are to die for. The fried items do not have that brown tint because of the clean oils and prep work. This place is fine dining chinese and its priced on target with the area yet its 3 steps above all the average food you can find in the area.Its a must try and blows away the competion. The complaints I dont get because the owner walks around and talks to the tables to ensure yo are pleased each time.The drinks are not ready made and ask for a white Mia Tai and you will not be disapointed at all. A must try and repeat meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Su Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing