We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and the best baked scrod ever. I love this place!”

Wimpy's Seafood Market
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Osterville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and the best baked scrod ever. I love this place!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Wimpy's is my local eatery. I have dined there countless times, most often in the tavern from the Early Bird menu (served 4:00PM-5:30PM). The baked scrod is my all-time favorite, but the steak tips are a close second tied with the chicken piccata. On the Early Bird menu, these and other entrees come with soup or salad and dessert plus hot tea or coffee at unbeatable prices, e.g., $13.99 for the baked scrod. This is a place where grandma is as comfortable as the grandkids and the menu pleases everyone. It's a friendly neighborhood place where tourists fit in very easily. Wimpy's also offers takeout from the seafood market. Check their web site for monthly menus. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodTravelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    99
    43
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent price/ service/ quality experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited the web site prior to going and was expecting a more family type restaurant. I was happy by the place once there! Selection on menu was extensive, prices are very decent, and quality of food and portions Big...

Expect delays if you did not make a resrvation

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chagallvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotuit, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close but no Cigar”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

They say in sports that a tie is like kissing your sister. Well the same could be said about eating at Wimpy's. Food was good but not great, adequate menu but nothing very exciting and ok service. All it would take to go from just OK to very good would be a little updating of the menu and a little interior decorating.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A group of 8 of us made a reservation on a busy Saturday afternoon and were promptly seated at the round table we requested. Our waitress was outstanding! Everyone enjoyed their food and it was reasonably priced. We will be back the next time we go to the Cape!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boggie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Ny
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“typical of what you might expect on the cape in a small town”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nothing fancy , very pub-like atmosphere. The food was good , but really not exciting at all.
Very popular , we expected more. . It's all good food, and noisy, and crowded and dark.
No matter who you ask " Where should we eat?" , the first answer is always " Whimpies".
I think there isn't much of a choice in the area , can't figure out what the interest is here.
It's obviously an old hangout of sorts, and probably been around forever, but really, no atmosphere, average food, and no real bargain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank redheadLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wimpy's Seafood Market also viewed

Osterville, Cape Cod
Osterville, Cape Cod
 

Been to Wimpy's Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing