We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Wedding - Quick AM B'fast”

Cottage Street Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Bethel, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend Wedding - Quick AM B'fast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Looking for breakfast, but found danish or scones with a very good coffee only.
Breakfast sandwiches for a couple of us barely did the trick - nothing like
the 'board' description. Breads and bakery items were sweet delights.
Basically, we were steered in the wrong direction by brochure info.
Take home these goodies - party order from here OR use this for an in-between pick-me-up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    42
    17
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Poor customer service. Nothing Special.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Breakfast sandwich was ok, but you can get the same things at Subway for less $$. Blueberry muffin and croissant were just ok, nothing you can't get at Starbucks or Stop and Shop. I think i would have given it a 4 rating but the service was just plain bad. We ordered our sandwiches and were told by the girl behind the counter that the only bread they have is rye - no problem, we can have the sandwiches on rye. After 5 min of waiting we were told by the same girl that they don't have rye bread, just multigrain - hmm ok, i am fine with that but the way she communicate that made me feel like it was my fault they were out of bread - rude tone, eye rolling - we got the full treatment. In the meantime i saw a lady walk in, ask a question and leave after not getting a response for several minutes. Someone made a comment : ohh you just lost a customer, and the girl responded with an eye roll and something like " she can come back tomorrow". Girl behind the cash register was really nice, but unfortunately her friend might have been one of the most unfriendly people i have seen.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kahaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“second to none”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

their bread is second to none and the pastry's are fantastic, get there early if you want them because they sell out so fast but it is worth getting up and going early because the coffee is wonderful too

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cranberry almond muffins are the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

It was our first trip to the Cottage Street Bakery and over the week it quickly became our go-to breakfast stop. It's super cute inside, with a few small tables and a big counter full of baked goodies (!!!).

The cranberry almond muffins are amazing - the perfect combination of subtle almond flavor and cranberries. They go perfectly with a nice cup of the Cape brand Beanstock coffee (my fav was the Nauset Blend). I wasn't a fan of the Dirt Bomb--way too sweet for my taste.

We also got breakfast sandwiches--the veggie was by far the best, with big roasted peppers and other vegetables on toasty multigrain bread. Overall, cute Cape spot perfect for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsquaredL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I was disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I read reviews about this bakery before I visited the Cape and felt like I could not miss it. I was extremely disappointed. It is a very cute little bakery but the food was nothing special at all. The reviews I read before I went said "you must have da bomb muffin, get there early because they sell out". I tried it - four of them to be exact and even my kids didn't like them because they were basically a ball of sugar. I had a scone which was good. My daughter tried a chocolate chip cookie which was only average.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reese67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Street Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Cottage Street Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing