We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlfriend's Trip to Cape Cod”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Girlfriend's Trip to Cape Cod”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is a great location for easy travel to both ends of the Cape, and the rates don't break the bank.
Manager very friendly and eager to help with anything. Negatives: No one in the office after 8PM (they post a cell phone number on the door if you need assistance which is NOT great if you had any kind of emergency), and there is no coffee available in the office until 8:30AM and no coffee makers in the rooms. If you are a true beach lover like we were and like to have your coffee and get out to the beach at low tide early in the morning you are out of luck at this place. The rooms are pretty dated but it was clean and the location is perfect for exploring the Cape.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastcoastali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    44
    28
    21
    13
See reviews for
61
76
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Spent a few nights here for a quick winter getaway. It was ok.
Staff, when found, were very nice, friendly and helpful. I just wish they were more on hand than having to try 2 cell phone numbers to reach someone and that was if they answered. We even had to call a cell phone number when we arrived to check in...which is not a huge deal, just odd.
Room was clean enough, but I'm glad I didn't pay high season rates to stay here. The toilet wasn't bolted to the floor properly, which made things interesting, but at least it was clean :)
All in all I might stay here in the future for a cheap overnight, but I'd check what else was out there first.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a_jabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldtavernmotel, Owner at Olde Tavern Motel & Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
A message from the Olde Tavern Motel Family Owners, with 30 years of Local Cape Cod Hospitality.
We very much appreciate your feedback. We take no offense in our attempt to interpret all reviews in a professional manner. All such constructive criticisms are then transferred to our Property Management System, and resolved. It is essential for our guests to understand our family is dedicated to proactively addressing, and updating our place here.
Please be assured all large and small repair jobs, are handled on an immediate basis. Other cited shortcomings, are sometimes best addressed in our off-season, as we strive to improve our property and accommodations on a yearly basis.

After 30 years, our love, for what we do, has only grown. Therefore, our dedication has driven us to strive for more. Ultimately, our goal is to please everyone, while realizing that it is not always possible. However, given that we see and hear the vast majority of our guests enjoying our facility, we would like to assure all guests, that we are 100% committed to our guests' satisfaction.
Whether our feedback comes from a 25 year repeat guest, or a first time visitor, your opinion is very important to us!

We enjoy our expansive loyal return guest population, and work to build on that on a daily basis. If by chance, during your stay, you have any concerns, please visit our front desk, and we will work to resolve them. We find, in most cases, we can solve the problem. That is our promise to you, in remaining dedicated to making your stay with us as pleasurable as possible.

Representing Three Generations of Our Family Business Tradition, Give us a Call with Questions. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My family enjoyed staying at the Old Tavern Motel in the Cape. Although it was my first time in the Cape and I have never stayed at any other hotel there before I thought the location and stay was nice. Yes the rooms are dated but I felt from my stay as well as seeing other places there it seems like the perfect for the area. The hotel was a good match to the historic area. The rooms were very clean and the mattresses were great! That was the one thing that was dated. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking to stay in that area. So the price, staff and locations was perfect for my family!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Staff seldom available. But extremely talkative. Low water pressure in shower. Tub drain so slow you are standing in water. Overall poor maintenance. There are many other better choices in town. Some with continental breakfast. Don't be mislead by positive reviews as we were!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oceana101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Service was great - very helpful and friendly. We are not a picky family and often find the understated old-style motels quite enjoyable. We don't need all the modern upgrades to make the vacation special as we spend most of the time outdoors. It is always nice though in the afternoons to have a nice room to go back to so you can take a break and relax for an hour or two before settting off for the evening. We really did not enjoy our room enough to do that. It was really dark (not enough interior lighting) and the room smelled like one of those tree-shaped deodorizers that they sell for cars. Besides that, however, the room was very clean and the bathroom shower had fantastic water pressure.

We enjoyed being so close to Orleans village as we could walk to breakfast every morning (loved Jo Mama's), to dinner, and to the market to gather supplies for the day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank From_the_Farmlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldtavernmotel, Owner at Olde Tavern Motel & Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
A message from the Olde Tavern Motel Family Owners, with 30 years of Local Cape Cod Hospitality.
We very much appreciate your feedback. We take no offense in our attempt to interpret all reviews in a professional manner. All such constructive criticisms are then transferred to our Property Management System, and resolved. It is essential for our guests to understand our family is dedicated to proactively addressing, and updating our place here.
Please be assured all large and small repair jobs, are handled on an immediate basis. Other cited shortcomings, are sometimes best addressed in our off-season, as we strive to improve our property and accommodations on a yearly basis.

After 30 years, our love, for what we do, has only grown. Therefore, our dedication has driven us to strive for more. Ultimately, our goal is to please everyone, while realizing that it is not always possible. However, given that we see and hear the vast majority of our guests enjoying our facility, we would like to assure all past, present and future guests that we are absolutely committed to our guests' satisfaction. We value feedback from all guests equally, whether from a 25 year repeat guest, or a first time visitor, your opinion is important to us.

We love our huge repeat guest population, and work to build upon that population on a daily basis. If by chance, during your stay, you have any concerns, please visit our front desk, and we will work to resolve them. That is our promise to you, in remaining dedicated to making your stay with us as pleasurable as possible.

The Bader Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I am having difficulty putting into words how great this motel is. The staff is incredibly friendly, considerate and supportive, making you feel like family visiting rather than a simple guest in their motel. They made sure that my stay was as comfortable and stress free as possible. The location is perfect, very close to the ocean front and the bay side, and the staff will make sure that you know all the local spots to eat, drink, play, and do whatever it is you would like to do on the Cape! The room we stayed in was the perfect size and very clean. I would absolutely recommend this Motel to anyone looking for a place to stay on Cape Cod, two thumbs way up!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I had such a great experience at the Old Tavern Motel! It was the perfect location, the rooms were clean, and above all the customer service was excellent. David was personable, accommodating, and took the extra time to make us feel at home. I valued being able to stay at a place where I felt I was getting a locals perspective of the Island. I have already been back once since my initial visit and plan on making the Cape my new vacation spot!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
5.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
685 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.1 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Governor Prence Inn
Governor Prence Inn
#5 of 8 in Orleans
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 8 in Orleans
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Tavern Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Tavern Motel & Inn

Property: Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
Address: 151 Route 6a, Orleans, MA 02653
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Olde Tavern Motel & Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is ideal, between Ocean and Bay Beaches! SHORT walk downtown, for all attractions, AND restaurants. Family operated for 30 years, we love being helpful and very friendly. With our rooms constantly being improved, and our pool at 85 degrees everyday, 68% of our 2008 business came from repeat guests! Bike trails, Whale watches, Trips to Nantucket, Fishing -- Brandon is waiting to make your vacation unforgettably special, take advantage of our local connections! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Olde Tavern Motel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Tavern Motel And Inn
Olde Tavern Hotel Orleans
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing