We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Menu Selections, Loud Atmosphere”
Review of Jailhouse Tavern

Jailhouse Tavern
Ranked #26 of 56 Restaurants in Orleans
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Creative Menu Selections, Loud Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I ventured here for the 1st time, we were drawn in by the history of the building and the creative, extensive menu. Dinner time on a Friday night was a little busy, waited about 20 minutes to be seated. We were a bit thrown off trying to figure out parking and entrance as they have a large function hall around back which was hosting a gathering. For starters we both enjoyed a cup of Cape Cod Clam Chowder, which was great tasting, and a few beers. We both decided on The French Dip sandwich, excellent quality roast beef and the boursin cheese was out of this world delicious! We had never had that cheese before and are so happy to have been introduced to it! The lack of 5 stars is because the environment was way too loud for an enjoyable dinner, we could hardly hear each other speaking which was a little annoying. Would definitely go back for that French Dip sandwich again though!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fennyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    84
    84
    39
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistently good food in a cosy atmosphere.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Ive been here several times for both lunch and dinner…The menu is extensive with lots of choices of chicken , beef and the seafood the Cape is famous for…You really can't gp wrong with anything on the menu..The prices for the quality of food you get is also very good..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
275 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fine Vacation Ending”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We normally go there on the last night of our vacation, to celebrate with families and friends. This place is an old jail, converted to a restaurant. Both the onion soup and clam chowder are both very good. The menu selection are quite varied and the dishes are quite plentiful and worth the price.we have never been dissatisfied with our meals or the service and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A returned and VERY satisfied customer”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

When the Jailhouse was acquired by new owners I was very happy! I've been going there since the doors opened 25 years ago and it had fallen on hard times.I was hopeful for the future and was really disappointed when I went in last fall by poor food and the most obnoxious waitress I have EVER had. Went back last Saturday and was more than satisfied with the ambiance, food and most especially excellent service (ask for Vicki) THANK YOU Mark and your partner for restoring a local Gem to it's former glory!! I'll be back...OFTEN.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best deal in orleans”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The place is for people who want good food for a fair price.It's not gourmet but it's better then some of the places that think they are.The prices are a deal for good food and you can bring the family.Try it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank austin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jailhouse Tavern also viewed

 
Orleans, Cape Cod
 

Been to Jailhouse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing