We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Setting for Good Meals”
Review of Jailhouse Tavern

Jailhouse Tavern
Ranked #26 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Central Maine
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Interesting Setting for Good Meals”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We tried the Old Jailhouse Tavern during a pre-Memorial-Day trip to Cape Cod.... and while we hoped for, and found, places less crowded than they would be mid-summer, it was still a bit disconcerting to visit this Tavern at 6:15PM and find ourselves one of only three parties there. The architecture is interesting -- vestiges of the old jailhouse juxtaposed with a nice terrace sun-room dining room. Our fish-and-chips and clam pie choices were both excellent, as was the service, despite some seemingly lenghy absences of our server from the dining room (good thing we didn't need her for anything). The only true turn-off during our visit was some obviously deferred maintenance in the sun-porch dining area -- peeling/chipped paint near doors and stairways, failed seals on dual-pane windows making it impossible to see the gardens outside, etc. Hopefully those items were addressed before the summer season arrived.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MainerOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    84
    89
    41
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warwick RI
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very bad experience”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were in Brewster for their special April weekend called "Brewster In Bloom", the town was buzzing with activity, and we decided to go to the Old Jailhouse in nearby Orleans. We called for a reservation and were greeted by an unfriendly greeter who told us we were one half hour late. Our group of 8 was brought into a dining room (that was virtually empty) in front of the bar area. A pleasant waitress took our drink order and had our drinks to us promptly. In the meantime, the dining room was suddenly filling up with other diners. The waitress took one half hour to come back to our table to take our food orders. We then noticed that all of the other diners (who came in after us) were being served with appetizers while we waited. After 1 hour and ten minutes, we received our food. Another friend joined us and promptly ordered a drink, and two of our friends also ordered refills on their wines. The three of them never received their drinks. After 45 minutes, one friend went to the bar and got her soda, telling the bartender that there were still two other guests waiting for drink refills. They never got them, and the manager never came to our table. The food was just "ok". Nothing special and certainly not worth over an hour wait. Our waitress did not take any responsibility for the long wait and basically threw the kitchen staff under the bus. Her only defense was that she was the only person waiting on tables in the entire dining area where we were seated. I would not recommend this restaurant at all since the waitstaff and the manager left us with the feeling that they did not care that we were really not satified with our experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank pjcollect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Old Standby in Orleans”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had not been to Old Jailhouse for years. I see they still have not renovated; it could really use a facelift.

But, on the plus side, our hostess was perky and friendly and offered us the choice of a booth (which we took) or the greenhouse. We started with calamari with red tomato sauce. This was a little disappointing. Clearly frozen squid, rather small serving and no tentacles, with tomato sauce right from a can for $12.99. We should have asked before ordering. I'd skip this next time as it really had very little flavor.

Then we both ordered the Brunchburger: a half pound burger with cheddar cheese, crispy bacon and fried egg served on an over-size English muffin. The burger came nice and hot, but no oversize muffin, the burger hung out all around the muffin, which was really fine, but why advertise the oversize muffin? It clearly wasn't. The burger was quite good. It came with home fries, clearly soggy and left over from the day before, which my partner did not eat. I paid the additional $1.49 for the "frimps" ... an order of steak fries. These were served in a teeny weeny basket and there were eight pieces of potato, not what I'd consider a whole order, especially if one has to pay extra for them.

The lady who greeted us also was our server and she was very sweet and attentive.

Overall, we left satisfied, but for $60 including tip, two beers, calamari and two burgers, we felt as if we'd overpaid for the experience. Not sure how quickly I'd return. The place is very tired looking; the rest room has not changed in more than ten years and doesn't look that clean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent food and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Always a good place for a lunch or quick dinner - locals are usually at the bar - have eaten here many times over the years when visiting the Cape

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SRQ-BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were a party of 6 and were seated out in the sunroom which overlooks what appeared to be a garden area (as it was November I can't say what it looks like in the warmer months). The room was dated and had seen better days. I believe that the interior room may be a little more charming. The food was good, but not impressive. That being said, I can't say we would never return, but it probably wouldn't be our first choice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripleDeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jailhouse Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Jailhouse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing