We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare combo of good food, view, and decent prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orleans Inn

Orleans Inn
Ranked #35 of 56 Restaurants in Orleans
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Elegant waterfront dining in a Victorian Sea Captain's mansion.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Rare combo of good food, view, and decent prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Came here with my wife and another couple as we were staying in Orleans over the weekend. None of us had been here before, but we were looking for nearby seafood with a water view. The outdoor seating had a lengthy wait, but when we asked for indoor seating, we were seated right at the windows with a wonderful view, so I'd say it was the best of both worlds. For a waterfront location, the prices weren't bad (though note that the prices on the TripAdvisor menu seem to be outdated). I had a cup of chowder, as did another diner in our group, and then another had the lobster bisque. The chowder was quite good (consensus was that it is a better choice than the bisque). For dinner, fried fish of some variety is pretty much the way to go here. I had the fried scallop roll, and was really impressed by the generous portion of scallops provided here. They were very fresh and prepared well. Others in the group had the fried fish sandwich, fish & chips, and fried clam platter. Everyone liked their choices. The fries here are great, so I definitely recommend opting for that if your dish comes with a side.

Highly recommended if you're in Orleans. Perhaps not worth the trip if you're elsewhere on the cape, as you can probably find something similar closer to where you are.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. It is nice to see people who appreciate the Inn recognize the efforts fof the staff. We have had the best season ever and we appreciate your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    64
    36
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Ambience, VERY High Prices, Limited Lunch Fare That's HoHum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

When you walk in the door you will want to spend time drinking in the lovely front desk area (for the Inn). It is well decorated and full of interesting things. I found the crew rather lacking in customer attentiveness. From the hostess, who I had to search for and did NOTHING to tell us about the different seating areas (bar, screened in porch, or elegant dining-room) to the waitress who was very "busy" in a restaurant with only 2 other tables (there was more wait staff than customers). The air conditioning was another problem. It was during one of our recent hot spells with temps well over 80 and the restaurant was close to the same temperature. It was uncomfortable - we found ourselves wiping the perspiration with out table napkins.
The lunch menu was a disappointment from all perspectives - choice, taste, portions and cost. We dropped over $30 pp on a chowder, sandwich (one of us had an appetizer as their lunch) and a draft beer. The views of The Cove are spectacular if you are lucky enough to get a window seat (my table was directly in front of the wall between two tables). We asked for a better view, but the staff would not seat 2 people in the open window tables because they were for 4 or more customers. This was my second and last visit - I will steer my summer visitors elsewhere. There are better places to spend your money in Orleans.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Spindrift2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
319 Dining seats in 3 distinct dining areas on 2 levels at capacity every day and the hostess had nothing to do? They are so sweet and helpful. Every table has a gorgeous view of the water. Chowder $4, Beer $3, Sandwich platter $8 with almost 100 options to choose from in many combinations lunch or dinner. From your other reviews we are pleased it is your second and last visit. We continue to focus on the thousands of very nice guests and not let unfair attacks distract us from providing a wonderful experience at the Orleans Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Definitely Tourist; Definitely Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This historic in has lots of great history. The location will bring in tourists and locals with a special occasion for many years to come. The view is beautiful whether you eat on the lower patio or in the main dining room. The menu is complete and the food really delicious. Big portions of fresh salads or lobster bisque among a dozen other choices of appetizer followed by a full compliment of entrees in seafood or meat. We had a party of four and all agreed the service was great and the young staff kept checking on us so they didn't miss a thing. This is a landmark place and of course a tourist attraction but it has character a still a bit of elegance. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We shared it with our staff and they are so happy. It is kind words such as yours that keep us motivated to continue serving with pleasure. Cape Cod is a tourism economy and we enjoy caring for tourists and locals alike. We were all tourists on the Cape at one time. Those fortunate enough to live here year round realize the importance of tourists to our economy. We are so glad you found the Inn. We can't wait for you to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

All around great experience. I am sorry that we found it on the last day of our vacation. We will definitely return next year

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcheer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Manager at Orleans Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are glad you found us. We do not advertise and most of our guests find us by word of mouth. We look forward to seeing you next year and hope you tell your friends about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We are year round residents and have enjoyed this restaurant before, but this time the service was awful. Lots of staff walking around, but no one was coordinating the tables. Requests for water, bread,butter all went unnoticed. We were really surprised that lit citronella candles were placed on benches well within our children.
all said it was not pleasent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank dbyport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterfront, Owner at Orleans Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Guests love the attentive service at the Orleans Inn. We have the most professional staff who attend to every need. Since we are at capacity every night diligently serving guests who appreciate the Inn I hope you find a place more to your liking. This will allow us to focus on the guests who recommend the Inn and all it's splendor to their friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orleans Inn also viewed

 

Been to Orleans Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing