We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun local hangout”

Hot Chocolate Sparrow
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: With the love of chocolate and a loan, we started The Chocolate Sparrow, a simple candy shop, in 1989 in North Eastham. Gradually we learned the art of making fine chocolate and the business of selling it. In 1991 we opened a summer shop in Wellfleet. Two years later in Orleans, we opened The Hot Chocolate Sparrow, a cafe complete with coffee from around the world, desserts of every indulgence, and our own hand-dipped chocolates. Here we could offer specialty coffee drinks in a sophisticated but welcoming atmosphere. We have grown into a local institution, open early morning to late night, every day of the year except Christmas. We created a place where people can connect. Our cafe is recognized Cape-wide, our chocolate is sent all over the country, and our coffee, desserts, and fudge have been voted #1 numerous times in various local surveys. No wonder we are recognized as "The Best on the Lower Cape."
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun local hangout”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lively and fun but beware of crowding in summer! Good coffee and hot chocolate, so-so breakfast pastries and sandwiches, a cozy place to set up your computer and check email. Nicely packaged candy and fresh fudge to bring home. If the food were better, I would have given them five stars.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyBmillvalley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    165
    41
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We tried Emack and Bolios but like Chocolate Sparrow better. They have more flavors. Some outdoor seating. I had a chocolate frappe. Yum. The rest of my party had ice cream. I know my husband said he saw Richardsons containers. That had him sold. LOL

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannehynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Frozen Hot Chocolate”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Satisfy any sweet cravings---they have it all! From pie to fudge to ice cream creations. The only downside is the crowds, but good for people watching.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChiMagMile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, MA
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Addictive and Good!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We went here several times recently for desserts, coffee, and tea. The baked desserts were even better than the ice cream (though the hot fudge was great!), while the Fair Trade coffee and (from Maine) hand-packed tea were both excellent. Seating is informal but cramped -- okay for us, but maybe an issue for people with limited mobility. Still, this is a fun place for couples or families. We highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGandSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great and Open Late”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

After a day of the beach and an evening of baseball, our group was ready for a tasty treat. We found a variety of treats at the Sparrow. Coffee, pastries, and ice cream satisfied everyone in the family. Open until 11 p.m. Inside and outside dining available. We picked up Yogurt Muffins for breakfast and fudge as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNMom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Chocolate Sparrow also viewed

 

Been to Hot Chocolate Sparrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing