We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream, busy cafe”

Hot Chocolate Sparrow
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: With the love of chocolate and a loan, we started The Chocolate Sparrow, a simple candy shop, in 1989 in North Eastham. Gradually we learned the art of making fine chocolate and the business of selling it. In 1991 we opened a summer shop in Wellfleet. Two years later in Orleans, we opened The Hot Chocolate Sparrow, a cafe complete with coffee from around the world, desserts of every indulgence, and our own hand-dipped chocolates. Here we could offer specialty coffee drinks in a sophisticated but welcoming atmosphere. We have grown into a local institution, open early morning to late night, every day of the year except Christmas. We created a place where people can connect. Our cafe is recognized Cape-wide, our chocolate is sent all over the country, and our coffee, desserts, and fudge have been voted #1 numerous times in various local surveys. No wonder we are recognized as "The Best on the Lower Cape."
Ballston Spa, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, busy cafe”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I stopped by for ice cream. It wasn't bad, but I've had better. We stopped in the cafe which was very busy. They have a wide selection of chocolates and bakery treats none of which we tasted. The lines were long, but if you'd like to try, it seems really popular!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillowMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    168
    42
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Homewood, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Frozen Mocha Sparrow!”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stopped in a couple of times during our vacation based on reviews - the place was packed. Clearly very popular, especially for the younger crowd in Orleans. Lots of drink options. The iced coffee and frozen mocha sparrow were really good. Be prepared for a line!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bcEagle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Oooh La La! Delicious chocolate and almond croissants!!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My kind of breakfast...latte or cappuccino along with a warmed up almond croissant...makes me feel like I'm back in Europe. The croissants are just right; buttery, flaky....tres délicieux!! So, don't let a long line or crowds at the Sparrow keep you away....as a previous review mentioned....you're on the Cape, it's time to relax and slooooow down while those who are working hard to serve the thousands that come here for these incredibly freshly baked goods. (Try the desserts too - they are definitely worth skipping dinner for!) If there's a line, just join in and have a conversation with a person next to you or soak in the bustling vibrancy of this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaureenKvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbarton, NH
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it more based on reviews”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was just okay - the counter people were horrendous and disorganized. About four of them working but not moving customers along; extremely inefficient. Felt like they needed a good manager to keep things in line. I had blueberry pie, which was good...lots of seating inside and out. Right on the bike trail, so easy place to refuel!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlennzWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Willy Wonka Factory with Coffee”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hot Chocolate Sparrow is a fudge, dessert, ice cream lover's dream that is typically quite crowded at all times during the season. Coffee quality is good and quite a nice selection. Service is generally good although not always friendly. Besides oatmeal not many healthy food choices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tbgmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Chocolate Sparrow also viewed

 

Been to Hot Chocolate Sparrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing