We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stop quick”
Review of Lobster Pound

Lobster Pound
Ranked #49 of 56 Restaurants in Orleans
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Carthage, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stop quick”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just stopped at this place on my way into town visiting family; it looked appealing from the outside; outdoor seating, very small town feel great atmosphere; food was ok, but I only had the burger and some lobster

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Keni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    12
    14
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oak Ridge, Tn
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Langostinos (not true lobsters)”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've eaten here several times in past years. This year it was a disaster. Four of us ordered the special "Twin Lobster Tails." To our surprise they weren't maine lobsters; they were langostinos (not true lobsters), small and tough from over cooking. In retrospect, we should have ordered "two one pound lobsters." The baked potatoes were fine, and the corn salad was only O.K. We asked for the manager, but there wasn't one available. We felt sorry for the server who did an excellent job, considering our dissatisfaction with our meals. Except for two pound or larger lobsters, the Twin Lobster Tails was the most expensive item on the menu, which added to our dissatisfaction.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tcmyhre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lobster, great staff, pleasant experience”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family of four had a very good lobster dinner here. The lobsters were tender, delicious and easily came out of the shells. Ricardo our waiter was great! He was polite, attentive, and interactive when our girls were picking their lobsters. Brownie sundaes were a hit too. Decor not great. Overall - a good dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greeneyedmama73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lobster and only lobster”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate here many years ago and decided to return on our first trip back to Cape Cod in years. We went on a Monday and I was surprised by how empty the place was. It looked exactly the same as it did years ago. We ordered steamers to start which were ok. Lobsters were all very good. Baked potato and corn that came with it were also very good. I was surprised by some reviewers who either don't like lobster or went expecting a true seafood restaurant experience. This place is not pretending to be anything other than it is which is a basic, simple, not fancy new England lobster place. Go with that expectation and enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Westiefan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Don't order the fish”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Maybe the lobster is good, but we don't eat lobster. The fish we got was a good portion, but it was overlooked and didn't taste fresh. The potato and corn on the cob that it came with did taste good.

The all you can eat fish and chips was good except for the fish. :-). They use pollock, which is a cheap fish that in my opinion doesn't taste good. Of rather have a better quality fish and not have "all you can eat".

The waiter was very nice, but seemed to have too many tables. Perhaps she realized we were a family and may not tip well?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dogger872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Pound also viewed

 

Been to Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing