We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Linnell - Never dissapoints”

Captain Linnell House
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: As one of Cape Cod's most distinguished fine dining restaurants, the Captain Linnell House offers a series of intimate and romantic dining rooms in a former sea captain's home. A favorite among Cape Cod's wedding reception and rehearsal dinner venues, The Captain Linnell House is located in Orleans, MA around the corner from Skaket Beach, a picturesque setting for a Cape Cod beach wedding ceremony. This chef owned restaurant is celebrating it's 29th season. The Captain Linnell House offers expertly prepared classic fare - from appetizers of iced Wellfleet oysters on the half shell, to escargots and baby kale salad, to entrees of rack of lamb, grilled salmon, roast duckling, scrod n' parchment, and veal Milanese. A Prix Fixe Menu is offered from Mid-September to end of June. Enjoy three course dining of entrees such as Atlantic swordfish, Black Angus prime rib, roast duckling.
Eastham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Captain Linnell - Never dissapoints”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My family has been going to Captain Linnell for over 40 years. We have celebrated birthdays, anniverseries, etc. In the beginning, it was a must when we vacationed in Orleans and Eastham. We retired in Eastham and it is still our favorite! This is the only restaurant on the Cape that I can honestly say we have NEVER gotten a bad meal. If you haven't tried it yet, you are missing a wonderful dinning experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    27
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our experiences at the Captain Linnell House were terrific from the wait staff to Tucker and Grant on Friday evening. The food was absolutely wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with at the restaurant and hope to come back again next year. We could not have asked for a better experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tucker!! He's their mixologist but also is attentive with everything going on. Ambiance,presentation”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wow! Perfect night period. We go to many places and this is a gem. Thank you to everyone at captain linnell house. FYI tucker rocks!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phildreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We haven't been to the Captain Linnell House for a while and I don't know why but we won't let that happen again. It was a perfect night from start to finish! We had a table set right next to the windows with a perfect view of the koi pond and fountain which was visited by many birds. Service was great, meal was delicious (I had panko crusted fish). Cosmos exactly how we like them. Wine list very nice and dessert (which we never get) an absolute perfect finish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner in a Whaler Captain's House”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A must for a special evening dinner- beautiful classic Cape Cod setting, casual yet formal setting, excellent variety of offerings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank brstefany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Linnell House also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Captain Linnell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing