We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal/service/atmosphere”

Captain Linnell House
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: As one of Cape Cod's most distinguished fine dining restaurants, the Captain Linnell House offers a series of intimate and romantic dining rooms in a former sea captain's home. A favorite among Cape Cod's wedding reception and rehearsal dinner venues, The Captain Linnell House is located in Orleans, MA around the corner from Skaket Beach, a picturesque setting for a Cape Cod beach wedding ceremony. This chef owned restaurant is celebrating it's 29th season. The Captain Linnell House offers expertly prepared classic fare - from appetizers of iced Wellfleet oysters on the half shell, to escargots and baby kale salad, to entrees of rack of lamb, grilled salmon, roast duckling, scrod n' parchment, and veal Milanese. A Prix Fixe Menu is offered from Mid-September to end of June. Enjoy three course dining of entrees such as Atlantic swordfish, Black Angus prime rib, roast duckling.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal/service/atmosphere”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Make a reservation and enjoy a very pleasant experience. Try to go when the Wisteria are in bloom; the front of the bldg. is covered! Beautiful! Weddings/Events held here too. A little hidden, but we all have GPS these days. It will be one of the best meals you have on the Cape.
Prices in accordance with the wonderfully prepared dishes. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    27
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
“Must Have Crab Cakes!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

You will never order a better crab cake, anywhere. Elegant attmosphere and always great food. I have been there several times and have always thought "why don't we come here more often?" I have been there for a romantic dinner for two and weddings of 200 and they always deliver. Oh, and don't forget to try the Carrott Cake!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect function venue”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I attended an evening function with almost 100 guests and dinner and music, and it was wonderful. The atmosphere was warm and friendly, the staff efficient and courteous, and the food and drinks fabulous. I would highly recommend the Linnell House for any celebration.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishFingerprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasure from start to finish.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We hosted a retirement party for 95 last week and everyone commented on how superb the service was and how delicious the dinner. Shelley was wonderfully helpful in the planning and the execution was flawless. Everyone was amazed that a sit-down dinner for 95 could arrive simultaneously at all the tables. The entire experience was A+.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Merry!! Merry!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely, romantic, and very delicious Christmas Eve dinner in front of the fire at Captain Linnell. The atmosphere was beautiful, the place was bustling, and the service was elegant and professional. Our whole experience was delightful and a reminder that we need to go back more often. Thanks to the Conways! B. and B.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Linnell House also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Captain Linnell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing