We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year Disappointment” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Linnell House

Captain Linnell House
Ranked #1 of 56 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $28
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: As one of Cape Cod's most distinguished fine dining restaurants, the Captain Linnell House offers a series of intimate and romantic dining rooms in a former sea captain's home. A favorite among Cape Cod's wedding reception and rehearsal dinner venues, The Captain Linnell House is located in Orleans, MA around the corner from Skaket Beach, a picturesque setting for a Cape Cod beach wedding ceremony. A chef owned restaurant, The Captain Linnell House offers expertly prepared classic fare - from appetizers of iced Wellfleet oysters on the half shell, to escargots and baby spinach salad, to entrees of rack of lamb, grilled salmon, roast duckling and Veal Milanese. A Prix Fixe Menu is offered from September to June. Enjoy three course dining of entrees such as Atlantic Swordfish.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“New Year Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

It started once inside. Nothing festive, hostess dressed in gray garb and appearing very disinterested. Had a 8:30 reservation and timely seated. Did not get service or acknowledgement for 15 min. Waited for water, ordered a drink which was delivered by hostess who said waiter will be with us shortly. No apology. Waiter was totally uninterested in serving. Recited menu and disappeared again. Finally placed order and continued to wait. Food was nothing to wait for. Skipped ordering desert . Not a festive night

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    27
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My step-daughter and her significant other were visiting over the holidays. We've
lived in the area for 12 years, but have never been to Capt. Linnell House. Friends
from work raved about it, so we went for Christmas Eve dinner. The holiday décor,
charm, and ambiance of the restaurant were exceptional. The food was very good, but I cannot rate it as excellent for a couple of reasons. I ordered a Tuna steak, and asked that it be cooked "medium". Unfortunately, parts of it looked raw when I cut into it. (Teriyaki sauce was delicious). No complaints from the others at the table. Chocolate cake with mint ice cream superb. But the coffee was TERRIBLE!!
Maybe the worst I've ever had. Weak, and tasteless. Still, the overall meal, and inviting small dining room with fireplace lit made the evening special, and relaxing.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seadream2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Romantic Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The rooms are intimate, with a period decor. This time we sat in the room with the fireplace - it was lovely. Also nice during the daytime is near a window overlooking the courtyard. Traditional menu well prepared. Generous portions. Service was attentive and accommodating. Reasonable wine list and entrees were well priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Perfectly delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Captain Linnell House is one of our favorite restaurants ever, and we have been going there since they opened some 20+ years ago. It is a dining experience unlike any other. The atmosphere is charming and elegant..... every detail is attended to. The building and grounds are amazing and the interior is just as beautiful. The food is wonderful.... fresh, nice selection and each plate could grace the cover of a gourmet magazine. The Lobster Bisque is a favorite, as well as the Escargot and Prime Rib. For our most recent visit, we had Megan as a server and she did a fantastic job, tending to every detail of my husband's birthday dinner. We can't say enough about this lovely restaurant. I only wish it had been there when we had gotten married - it would have made a beautiful and romantic memory.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving dinner was a long and expensive experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We arrived on time for our 2 pm seating and were led to a great table in the side room. By 3:45 our meal had not been delivered. Our waiter had brought us one drink each and some rolls--but never appeared again to ask if we would like more or to explain why our meal was taking so long. (We ordered turkey!) When we finally got the meal it was a huge plate of food...mostly adequate but, nothing special enough to pay $42 per person. Dessert was brought to us and we had to ask for forks...the waiter never asked if we wanted any coffee or tea or afterdinner drink. We got our bill and left We have all been to the Captain Linnell House before and thought it would be a fun, special place to celebrate Thanksgiving. But, will not be going back and the waiter should be retrained or removed from his job. If there was a problem in the kitchen we should have been told, and if it was just his flitting around or being among the missing for most of the evening...well, then shame on them all.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M.J. N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Linnell House also viewed

 

Been to Captain Linnell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing