We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Easter dinner”

Captain Linnell House
Ranked #1 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: As one of Cape Cod's most distinguished fine dining restaurants, the Captain Linnell House offers a series of intimate and romantic dining rooms in a former sea captain's home. A favorite among Cape Cod's wedding reception and rehearsal dinner venues, The Captain Linnell House is located in Orleans, MA around the corner from Skaket Beach, a picturesque setting for a Cape Cod beach wedding ceremony. This chef owned restaurant is celebrating it's 29th season. The Captain Linnell House offers expertly prepared classic fare - from appetizers of iced Wellfleet oysters on the half shell, to escargots and baby kale salad, to entrees of rack of lamb, grilled salmon, roast duckling, scrod n' parchment, and veal Milanese. A Prix Fixe Menu is offered from Mid-September to end of June. Enjoy three course dining of entrees such as Atlantic swordfish, Black Angus prime rib, roast duckling.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing Easter dinner”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although we live in the area, we had not been to the Captain Linnell in a long time. Went with friends to their special Easter dinner with high expectations and was very disappointed. We had a reservation and were seated in a reasonable time, but that was the end of the promptness. The entire meal, appetizer, entree and dessert took nearly 2.5 hours. There were long waits between every course. The lamb, which both men had, was overcooked. The shrimp dish was good. I had the duck which was so crispy that it was almost impossible to cut and the meat was very dry. The underside must have sat in the pan for a long time because it was very hard. The cranberry sauce was overly sweet and didn't work. The mushroom soup was very tasty but over-salted. The desserts were OK; yes, just OK. To be fair, the building and surroundings are more beautiful than I remembered, but that doesn't make up for poor service and over-cooked food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jp1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    27
    24
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I previously have eaten here a couple of times and the experience was great. This time was no different. The service was prompt, atmosphere was nice at sunset and food arrived in a timely manner.
I had the prix fixe menu with a choice of goat cheese salad or a mushroom bisque. I went with the salad and my wife got the crab cake off the regular menu. We shared the salad and crab cake and both were excellent.
For entrees, my wife had Scrod in parchment paper and I had the duck breast from the prix fixe. Both were excellent. Her fish was moist and well prepared. My duck breast was cut into medallions and served with a cherry Demi glacé...delicious. Both meals were served with broccoli, butternut squash and mashed red potatoes.
I actually took part of mine home because it was so much food.
My prix fixe included a dessert and not just a choice of 3-4 you usually get, but probably 10-12 options. We split the carrot cake with vanilla ice cream. They make the carrot cake in-house and it was a generous portion.
All in all, another great meal at the Captain Linnell House. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capesox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Elegant Cape Cod Restaurant”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is truly a special place. Having been by it several times but never having dined there, on the advice of friends we decided to host a special birthday for our daughter there. We had a party of 19 that included mostly family with children starting at the age of 11. The food was superb, the service very good and the attention to detail by the owner excellent. We found out that it is a family operation that has been in business for 25 yrs. and know how to handle a party! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lotus1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for Special Occassions”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had our Christmas dinner in an exquisite home/restaurant reminiscent of the sea Captains of old. Excellent fare from appetizers to dessert, and an extraordinary cellar! Individual attention by the staff.
The perfect place for any occassion.

Helpful?
Thank Snuffle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The best duck ever”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Had a wonderful New Years Eve dinner with friends. Very cozy next to a fire place.
The duck, escargot, prime rib and fish dishes were all delicious.
All appetizers were creative and large enough to be entree. Our only
qualm was not getting separate checks. Hopefully when we return for dinner
this will be changed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramashiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Linnell House also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Captain Linnell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing