We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit!”

Mahoney's Atlantic Bar & Grill
Ranked #10 of 56 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner
Description: Upscale dining in downtown Orleans. Historic building with a convivial, long bar, and a cozy dining room serving local seafood, prime beef, hearty salads, pasta and signature desserts.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
404 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Another great visit!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We went to celebrate my birthday (did not tell them!) and had two terrific meals: tuna that my husband loves, especially with the wasabi and pickled ginger and I had the salmon special. Added salad specials and we left very happy once again. Service was friendly and very attentive. Would recommend this restaurant!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    135
    36
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best New Year's meal ever”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Mahoney's New Year's Eve menu was spectacular. We shared a half-dozen oysters on the half-shell which were fresh and briny. Then we indulged in the New Year's Eve specials. My roasted halibut, wrapped in prosciutto and served on a bed of braised lentils, was accompanied by their wonderful barley risotto and the tenderest, most delicious carrots I have ever had. The halibut and the crispy prosciutto were a perfect combination. My companion greatly enjoyed the seafood risotto, which was brimming with lobster, shrimp, and scallops. Dinner was pricey but worth it for a special occasion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saltyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tired of the menu! ”
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I'm not so sure if the menu has changed since Mahoney's opened years ago. Please! It's time for a change! I look forward to dining here but get disappointed when none of the specials appeal to me... sometimes when this happens I just want to leave. The menu choices are average, usual, and nothing to get excited about. The specials (when I find one to try) usually are top notch. Drinks are always excellent, service could be a bit faster... at times we have waited more than 5-7 minutes to even be acknowledged by a server.
Mostly, however, I'm just tired of the menu.

Helpful?
Thank SophieDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann M, Owner at Mahoney's Atlantic Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We have an extensive menu with many options for seafood as well as meat lovers. Over the years we have made changes to the menu, but many patrons are fiercely loyal to specific appetizers and entrees that are the mainstays on the menu. We'll continue to offer weekly specials (view them on our Facebook page until our new hip web site is launched) and the Mad Mexican menu on Tuesdays and Wednesdays (Oct- April).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Same menu forever”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

good food but very boring. Food items have been the same forever. I find that returning to the same items every time makes me want to try other places. prices are ok but on the high side. servers can be on the slow side and do not interact well with guest. they forgot my martini and messed up my order. steak was over cooked as well. tuna was very good. Not sure if im up for another visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaeldL2487NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable and tasty”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on a Friday night, no reservations but got a table right away although crowded. Very good chowder and appetizers, nice atmosphere - fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahoney's Atlantic Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Orleans, Cape Cod
 

Been to Mahoney's Atlantic Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing