We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach”
Review of Nauset Beach

Nauset Beach
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great beach”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

First beach of the National Seashore that you'll meet coming from Barnstable. Sand ok, waves are nice for surf and boogey board, water a bit cold but you get used to it :) Some seals and sea lions can be seen at end of afternoon. Often crowdy so my tip is to get there before 11AM or after 3PM. You'll have a) no traffic b) a parking lot and c) some place near the sea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gengisOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    135
    25
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach get there early”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Tuesday about 12:30 and the main parking lot was full. There was overflow parking which was fine for us but for a family with tons of gear Tisa much longer walk to the beach ; and its a longggg walk from the beach closest to overflow parking to the restrooms and snack bar.
Snack bar was very slow but good.
I like nauset because it is one of the only beaches I've ever been at where you can see no man made structure. The beach Is just as it was before the pilgrims landed. It is just gorgeous.
Decent shell picking can be done.
There are warnings about great white sharks because seals live this beach and they are a main food for sharks.
The water'a bit cold even for August but very refreshing.
$15 parking fee. Not too bad. I've been to really gross beaches that charge $25 (hello disgusting brown Long Island sound beaches !)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank candlerfam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen county, nj
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Love nauset beach, get there early so u get a parking spot, lot fills up, nice beach to walk on and swim, just don't swim if there are seals or sea lions in the water, great white sharks could follow, seriously....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ampaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, cold water”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to Nauset on August 10, 2013. The beach is very nice and the waves are typically very good for body surfing and boogey boarding. As you start to walk down to the beach they have a sign they update daily with tide and temperature info. That day the water temp was 57. That's not a typo, 57 - and the water felt every bit like it. Of the thousands of people at the beach that day probably only a couple dozen were in the water at any time. The ranger at the park building did say it was unusually cold that day (currents? weather?) but the water is always on the cool side. Just be prepared if you decide to go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob_from_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and crowdy”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were looking for a beach on the ocean side, not the bay. We stopped at this beach on the first day of our vacation in the Cape Cod area. We were expecting big waves for kids (surf board). Waves were small, but beach was beautiful and clean. There were a lot of people for a Wednesday (beginning of August). The parking fee is 15$, which is expensive for a 3-5 hours stop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GabSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauset Beach also viewed

 

Been to Nauset Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing