We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been back many times”

The Yardarm Resturant
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: The Yardarm Restaurant is a small place with a big imprint. In the last decades we've prided ourselves on being the go-to meeting spot for locals in Orleans. On any given day, you'll find townsfolk like fisherman, physicians and plumbers all sharing stories over drinks or watching the Patriots. The Yardarm is a place where friends meet and where new friends are made. A big reason for our popularity is our food. We have a variety of dishes in different styles, from steaks to Gumbos but there's no one else quite does fish like we do. In fact, the Yardarm is where the local fisherman go to eat. We even serve forgotten traditional favorites like Cod Cheeks. Then more come in for the friendly service. Everyone from the owners down to the wait staff has made it their utmost priority to serve you well, and you'll definitely notice the smiles on our faces and attention to detail as you slowly realize like you're dining at a friend's place. There's no where else quite like the Yardarm!
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been back many times”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I tohave been back to the Yardarm numerous times since my review and have found the food and service to continue to be outstanding. Owners John and Jane have put chen together an outstanding kitchen staff who turn out the best food in town (try the grilled salmon) and the friendliest and most couteous staff. Don't miss it; lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffatcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    138
    45
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Daily Specials, Local Favorite”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've been coming here for years in the summer when visiting my parents here on Cape Cod. The food is excellent and there is always a large variety of daily "whiteboard" specials--from lamb chops to fried seafood items--as well as daily "themes" such as the prime rib night (twice a week--Mondays and Thursdays) or Mexican night (Tuesday). They have a bar/pub area and a small area of tables. Get there early on prime rib nights and weekends during the summer season or expect a wait/line. They have a good selection of beers on draft and a full bar.
The seafood chowder is AWESOME! This is some of the best chowder anywhere with lobster, clams, scallops, etc. Our whole family loves this--and we are all native New Englanders and pretty fussy about "good" chowder.
Service is fast and efficient, but don't expect "white glove" treatment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank svragman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Poor food complimented with bad service”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

When we arrived the place was full with parties waiting outside to go in. This gave me a false sense that we were in for a good family meal. That assumption started to deteriorate as soon as the waitress started taking our order. She seemed overwhelmed and haphazard. The place is not cheap but she came to take our order, deliver the food, and take our money. Not once did she stop by to ask how we were, and they even had extra hands clearing plates.

The food was no better. Not coming close in quality to match the price asked. The best part of the crap cakes was the wedge of lemon. Plus the waitress failed to serve the promised bread that came with the entrees.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MattCBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“The flavor of Cape Cod, with a side order of fun”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What more could you possibly want? Great local flavor, beautiful honest food, great drinks that, if they were any cheaper, they'd be paying YOU to drink them. I mean, really, how fussy can you be not to love this place? If you don't agree, perhaps at Olive Garden you'll feel like family...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite chowder”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The clam chowder is great, but the service could be better. Chowder makes it worth the stop. You can get cups or bowls of it to go, which is convenient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yardarm Resturant also viewed

 

Been to The Yardarm Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing