We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underdone ribs, poor fries.”
Review of Lost Dog Pub

Lost Dog Pub
Ranked #14 of 57 Restaurants in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Underdone ribs, poor fries.”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our usual places are closed, so we opted to revisit this former Howard Johnson's. Ordered a half rack of ribs. Came out looking really good, with a slathering of BBQ sauce over them. Expected to be able to separate the meat with a fork. No way. Had to use a knife and fork, and finally had to gnaw off what little meat there was. Fries were kinda tough, not crisp. Draft beer was good. Booth seating was comfortable. Mens room light switch had no cover. Bar area was very noisy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    79
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always consistant and affordable”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food and service is always consistant and highly affordable. Simple menu and good specials. Always entertainment at the bar, just from people watching.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank landrover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nondescript outside, comfortable inside”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a restaurant we had not yet tried on the Cape for a mid week dinner. I travel by the Lost Dog everyday on my way to and from work and always thought I would try it sometime. However, the outside appearance, looking like a former Howard Johnson's, does not have a great curb appeal although the location is ideal for a restaurant. The parking lot is often filled with pick up trucks and vans for the tradesman in the area.

I was pleasantly surprised with the inside of the restaurant. It appears to have three distinct areas, a bar, several tables in the bar area and a booth and table separate dining area. The wait staff was attentive and helpful described several evening specials.

My wife and I both ordered the cheeseburger, an 8oz. Burger that was very tasty and accompanied by more French Fries than either of us could eat, a rarity for me. We also had an appetizer of onion rings that featured the larger style rings, crisp and hot and not greasy!

It was much nicer on the inside than I was expecting and it will not be too long before we return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I went there with my family one night during our vacation. The food was delicious, and I highly recommend the fries!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Find!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were referred to the Lost Dog in Orleans MA from a hockey tournament close by. They were able to accomodate about twelve of us with no reservation. The food and service were both very good. It was a clean restaurant with a bar that we were very happy to find. Everyone was happy with the food from seafood to sandwiches and pizza, all very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lost Dog Pub also viewed

 

Been to Lost Dog Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing