We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Terrific Stay”
Review of Skaket Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skaket Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second Terrific Stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here last summer and returned for another great stay. The weather did not cooperate this year, but we still made the best of it. Our room was super-clean, and we had a deck that allowed us to enjoy the fresh air. This year we noticed the walls are thin, so there was some noise when people next door were going in/out and talked loudly. However, it seemed like everyone respected quiet hours (after 10:30pm), and we were not bothered.

The best part about this hotel is its location. Chatham is a quick drive with all its shops and restaurants. Nauset Beach and the national seashore are minutes away. Right on Route 6A are numerous restaurants, shopping, ice cream, and mini-golf. Everything you could ask for in a Cape vacation. Across the street is a complex with Shaws, CVS, a bookstore and liquor store. We also had brunch and dinner at Hearth and Kettle - a nice change to walk and not have to drive.

Some minor feedback I could offer the motel: 1) Vents in the bathroom. It gets uncomfortably humid after one person showers, let alone two. There are small windows, but even opening them did not help much. 2) HD cable - The tvs have been upgraded to flatscreens, but HD would make it even better. 3) Keys - The motel currently offers guests one key; upgrading to a keycard system would be preferred.

The hotel owners are very nice and the continental breakfast is great to have - the blueberry muffins are a treat. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milfordgirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    127
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
181
140
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lakewood,ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels/motels throughout the US and Europe. This room had the cleanest bathroom-ever. Bed linen, towels, washcloths changed daily. Homemade muffins-to die for- hot out of the oven every morning. Owner was very responsive. Flat screen TV had a wide selection of cable channels including the Comedy channel. Our room was very quiet. There was a family with small children next door to our room and we never heard them. This motel is in a central location on the cape. The Skaket town beach is a short drive and has public bathrooms and a shower to rinse off sand. Be sure to go to Chatham (15-20 minute drive from Skaket). We got there around noon. Go to the fishing pier where you can watch the fishermen unload their boats. Then head to the fish market just a few steps away. It has an adjoining take-out restaurant. Don't miss having a meal there. The fish is prepared directly off the boat. Loved the fish (sole) and chips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here on a whim on a last minute trip to the cape. Was very pleased with the room: clean, freshly renovated in the last 1-2 years (by appearance), nice wallpaper and carpeting, new sink and tub / shower unit, fresh paint, 27" flat screen TV and the HVAC / Heating unit was new and in fine working order. Bed and linens were fine. Also, no musty smell which sometimes accompanies older properties. Staff was nice and friendly. I've stayed at other motels on the cape and the results have been hit and miss. Location is great, close to Nauset and Sasket beaches and good restaurants in Orleans like the Lobster Claw and Land Ho. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've stayed at Skaket Beach Motel several times over the last 19 years. Their staff is pleasant and very accommodating. Rooms are newly renovated, good-sized, comfortable and spotless. Nice little features include free WiFi, and a delicious light breakfast with freshly baked muffins, cereal and coffee. The location offers easy access to either the bay side or ocean side of the Cape. Room size, bedding options and reasonable rates make this a great property for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wonderful location, close to beaches, restaurants and grocery store. Motel is set back from road so it feels private. The rooms were very clean. The pool was clean and refreshing. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On a bicycle trip the length of Cape Cod, the Skaket Beach Motel was a terrific stop along the way. The location was convenient to the Cape Cod Rail Trail and also near to the ballpark where we were able to see the Orleans Firebirds of the Cape Cod Summer League. Upon arrival at the motel, we received a friendly reception and helpful recommendations about area restaurants and beaches. The room was clean and comfortable. And breakfast included cranberry and blueberry muffins that were hot, fresh, and delicious. In all, a very pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEDFIELD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Skaket is very deceiving from the outside. The rooms are newly renovated. The beds are very comfortable. There are refrigerators in every room and fresh coffee and muffins in the morning. The pool could use some landscaping but it was very clean. Would definitely stay here again. Very close to everything!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmb1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
4.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
686 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
0.4 mi away
Olde Tavern Motel & Inn
2.5 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skaket Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaket Beach Motel

Property: Skaket Beach Motel
Address: 203 Cranberry Highway, Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02643
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Skaket Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 2 Diamond rated,Best Home made muffine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Skaket Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaket Beach Hotel Orleans
Skaket Beach Orleans
Skaket Beach Motel Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing