We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Skaket Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skaket Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked a room for 2 nights...although the rooms are very clean they really need to be updated. No fan in the bathroom which makes the entire room fog up when taking a shower. Biggest disappointment was although they advertise free wi-fi it was "down" for the days we were there. My wife had tons of work she needed to do but couldn't for these two days. Management really didn't seem to care when we told them this. I find it hard to believe a business would be down for days with a computer system although they said they said it was working in their office.....mmm seems fishy to me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Spp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skaket, Manager at Skaket Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are sorry your stay with us was disappointing. All guest rooms have been completely renovated in the last 2 years and typically our guests comment on not only the cleanliness of our rooms but also the decor. The WIFI was down that weekend due to a Verizon firewall issue and although we reported the problem to tham on Friday morning they were unable to send a technition until Monday afternoon. When our clerk was informed of your concerns in regard to WIFI malfunction, use of the office computer was offered because that system is strictly internet and was functioning. We apologize again for the inconvenience and are grateful for the positve comments you included in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    124
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
176
138
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable. Easy access to the whole cape. Walking distance to food and other necessities. Shaws supermarket right across the street. Hearth and Kettle resteraunt in the same plaza. They have a great breakfast. Some of the whitest towels I have ever seen in a bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnn0hla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

It is an amazing place with friendly hosts, clean rooms and delicious home-made muffins for the breakfast. The motel is perfectly located for those who want to stay longer on Cape Cod and explore the full beauty of the National Seashore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramunas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland,New York,USA
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Cape Cod. Our travel agent booked us at this hotel. it was a very pleasant experience. We stayed in room #33 from 9-4-2012 thru 9-8-2012. We enjoyed this facility very much.. Pleasant owners, spotless rooms, reasonable prices, nice breakfast. When we arrived my husband asked the owners if we could move a ramp to our doorway,and within minutes a ramp was delivered to our door. The ice machine was one door down...Very convenient. Location was wonderful for visiting all of Cape Cod.. We had a problem with the TV one evening, called the front desk, and the owner came right over, and assisted us. We would highly recommend this motel.. Also, this motel has quiet hours from 10:30pm to 7:00am which is very nice for families,and customers that dont want to stay in a party motel. Over all experience was wonderful, and we plan on going back to this hotel.
Thank you for making our 1st time trip to the cape a wonderful experience.
Thanks again..Robert, Diane, and Johann

Room Tip: #33 has a queen size bed,and one twin. Back area of motel, very quiet,ice machine one door down. Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmooney121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skaket, Manager at Skaket Beach Motel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Robert, Diane and Johann,
Thank you very much for shareing your wonderfull stay with us to tripadvisor, so nice to see Guest enjoyed staying here. we love to see you again, Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012. The room was very pleasant and was well equipped. There was a small kitchenette in our room (unexpected, but useful). Excellent free muffins and coffee were provided at breakfast time. The hotel was reasonably well located, opposite a small shopping mall. We walked into the centre of Orleans for dinner, which took about fifteen minutes. Our only small criticism is that the WiFi was slow and did not work on occasions. However, the motel was generally very good for the price paid. We would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skaket, Manager at Skaket Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear, Thank you very much share your wonderfull stay here. we do have some room with kithenett, Nice it was usfull for you. Hopefully see you in future .
Thank you again.
skaket beach motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I'm not really a motel person, so when I begrudgingly booked SBM for a visit with family, I had few expectations. However, this turned out to be the perfect spot for my needs.

1) Room was clean and tidy, spacious. Bathroom was recently remodeled with granite sink. All in all, the room looked more like a Hampton Inn than a motel.

2) Balcony: perfect for drying bathing suits and towels and airing out workout gear.

3) Flat screen TV with free (cheesy) on demand movies. This kept kids entertained at night without having to shell out bucks for a movie.

4) In-room fridge. Although I had the same model 20 years ago in my dorm room, this fridge was clean and kept our waters cold.

5) Our kids LOVED the pool. It was clean and although it was right on the highway, it was pretty private. The kids wanted to go there every day.

6) Homemade muffins. They were warm and plentiful. We did not have them every day, but when we didn't, we took an easy walk across the street to the Hearth & Kettle where I would recommend the applewood smoked bacon.

7) Less than a 5-minute run to the bike trail. (see #2)

8) Location: we were at bay and ocean beaches within minutes.

The recommendation I would have for the owners is to upgrade the beds and pillows. A few nights on the beds and both my and my husband's backs were sore. There were extra blankets and pillows in the closet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skaket, Manager at Skaket Beach Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear, We are so happy your all family enjoied staying at skaket beach motel, pool, homemade muffin and bike trail, we apreciate you took realy good amount of time and share your expirince.we love to see you again.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This motel is very centrally located in the mid cape. Close to both beaches and downtown Orleans, The Cape Cod Baseball league and a grocery store across the street. Very comfy surroundings, lots of shade and plenty of chairs for sitting outside and enjoying the weather. The pool is nice, too. Clean rooms, new bathrooms (no vents but the window did open) and yummy muffins. Loved it.

Room Tip: Small families fit well into the efficiency units, we had an upstairs room so it was fun having brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skaket, Manager at Skaket Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear, Thank you very much for sharing your expirince staying at skaket beach motel .It is very important for us and Guest who are looking forward to staying here. We love to see you in future again.. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orleans
4.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
654 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
15.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
1,256 reviews
2.5 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
2.7 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skaket Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skaket Beach Motel

Property: Skaket Beach Motel
Address: 203 Cranberry Highway, Route 6A, Orleans, MA 02643
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Skaket Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA 2 Diamond rated,Best Home made muffine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Skaket Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skaket Beach Hotel Orleans
Skaket Beach Orleans
Skaket Beach Motel Orleans, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing