We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Pizza Shop”

Marc Anthony's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Onset
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Pizza Shop”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place is just a short walk from the Onset Pier. The Fried Pickles were great,but the Pizza was just a bit above average as far as I was concerned. The owner Marc yelled at his employees, which I guess is his prerogative, but it didn't sit well with me. I had bad bosses yell at me when I was a teen, and I just quit, or did my job with a worse attitude. I imagine the place has stayed busy because of it's generational beach location, not necessarily because the food was exceptional. A "C" Grade for me.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    35
    7
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Bedford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pizza”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Marc Anthony's is a local restaurant, nothing fancy, just good food ,clean place, staff amazing, we always get their pizza, any kind it doesn't matter, they are all good, and let not forget the pitcher of lemonade, it is right in Onset, you leave and go 1 block and you are the beach, try it you will like it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Quite the place in Onset”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Crowded even in Mid-September, we found excellent pizza and salads. Well worth the trip; first class value.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taxpayer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Local's eat here for a reason!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This place is the ultimate hunger cure! Nothing fancy, just good character - both the environment and the employees. If you are looking for some excellent clam cakes, chowder and stuffies, head to Marc Anthony's and make a meal of it. The lobster roll is classic New England style, only longer! Not your gig? No worries, there's pizza, pasta, sandwiches, specials .... they do it all. And they do it well. For a change of pace, check out a Syrian pocket - they make their own several times per day and they are delicious! Try one with a BLT filling and you will have more bacon than you can imagine! They are open 7 days per week and deliver to the local area until midnight, according to the sign on the door. No summer hours here, that's for the touristy areas. If you happen to bring the kids (big or small) they have a whole bunch of video games, old school pinball machines and a bunch of gumball machines filled with kitsch. And yes, you can get a beer or some while with your meal. But don't expect fancy plates or flatware, they focus on the food and serve stuff in take out containers and paper plates. Perfect!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crisred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, New Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Fun Vibrant Joint With Great Food, Big Menu”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is not the place to "pop the question" to your partner. No soft music...and I doubt if a white tablecloth has ever been used in the place. However, MAs IS a great place for simple fare, served piping hot, and at a very fair price. Pizza is excellent. So are the seafood dishes. Understand that the barn-like atmosphere may be off-putting to some. And the clientele is varied, from businessmen to skateboarders. However, from that diversity there arises an energy about the place that, when paired with the food, is both exciting and satisfying. In summary, visit Marc Anthony's for the food, not for fussy waiters and fancy flowers. I'll be going back next week. See'ya there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROADFOREMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marc Anthony's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing