We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit in Onset”
Review of Inn on Onset Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on Onset Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Onset B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We needed a spur of the moment place to stay as we were having renovations done at our home. The first time I called to make reservations, the owner, Cheryl gave us the cottage room at their Inn. Just a day before, the contractors switched it up on me, and I had to call to cancel at the last minute. Cheryl was very understanding and allowed us to cancel and rebook for the next week. The cottage is small, clean, has everything you need for small meals or breakfast. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked great - it was very hot that week and we had no issues. Beautiful beach across the street, great view from in the room. We enjoyed the courtyard area in the afternoons. There was a grill there for cooking if you were so inclined. This is not a four star hotel, but they don't pretend to be. This is clean, reasonable, and the owners are great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onsetinnmanager, Manager at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. We are glad that you enjoyed the studio cottage, the courtyard and the quaint atmosphere of Onset, We hope that the renovations went well and that they were finished when they said they would be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Inn on Onset Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We booked a block of rooms at the Inn on Onset Bay for our wedding in June 2012. Cheryl, the innkeeper, was accommodating, friendly and detail oriented. I was notified when a guest booked a room and was given preference for the handicapped room for a family who needed it. All our guests were greeted with a warm welcome from Cheryl and given their welcome gifts. The beach is just across the street and we got a lot of comments of how relaxing it was. Very convenient location, especially for guests attending a wedding at the Overbrook House in Buzzards Bay! Though I can't comment on the bed quality, cleanliness or amenities, our guests seemed to love it! Thank you Cheryl and Abe!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innononsetbay, Manager at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

We enjoyed hosting your family and friends for such a wonderful occasion! We are so glad that everyone felt relaxed and at home and it was a pleasure to meet everyone especially Mr Brown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed a weekend here recently. It's a lovely old Victorian inn. The room itself was last decorated in the 70s i'd say, but it blended in with Onset in general-low key, relaxed shabby chic. Everything was clean, incuding the small kitchenette. Better lighting/higher wattage light bulbs would've been nice. Also, this place has the tiniest hotel soap bars in the world. No continental breakfast offered. Coffee only. Cheryl, the owner I believe, was very nice. Seemed to really want you to enjoy your stay.
I'd stay here again, though it's a bit over priced. Not for Cape Cod, but for Onset. Go if you're looking to get away from everything because there is nothing here. That's the good news and the bad news. You won't tire out from sightseeing in Onset. Nice beach right across street, terrific Stone Bridge Bistro and Pier View Restaurant (breakfast joint) a short walk.
Worth a visit if you're looking to recharge and want a low key place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingsolo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your feedback. We really take all of our guests thoughts into consideration as we continue to improve our guest experience.
We are glad that you enjoyed the "low key" atmosphere of Onset and hope that when you need to recharge again you will consider another visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for almost two weeks and we very much enjoyed our stay. Owners are very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are clean and spacious, it's walking distance to everything (e.g restaurants, stores, parks, beach etc.) which was very convenient for us especially with the kids. Feels like home to us and kids were really happy. Can't wait to go back again soon....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innononsetbay, Manager at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Thank you very much and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet your family and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Your Hosts,
Cheryl and Abe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is by far one of the worst places I have EVER stayed in. Room had a constant mold and mildew smell, Ceilings are cracked , walls dirty and bathroom and kitchen were disgusting. Everything is outdated and gross. Very overpriced, needs major renovating. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pretty1pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onsetinnmanager, Manager at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

It is upsetting for us as inn keepers to have a guest check-in, never come to the desk with a concern (one such as serious as mold) not take the time to fill out a comment card, not say a word at check out and then write such a negative review on line,If a guest does come to the desk which has rarely happened and is not happy we do everything we can to rectify the situation. After the fact there is not much we can do.
That being said, we have done much up dating to our rooms: newly painted, new carpeting, flat screen TV's and air conditioning, The bathrooms and kitchen while thoroughly cleaned do need some updating This is an older building and we do have challenges such as mustiness especially when it rains for a few days at a time. We are not for everyone but luckily have found that most of our guest love being in a quaint, unique place, close to the beach where we offer concierge level customer service to ensure that our guests can see and do as much as they like while visiting the area.
Many of our guests become friends and visit us again and again, we are sorry that this was not your experience and that you did not enjoy your stay at our, this is not the norm for most of the guests that stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We felt at home immediately. The room was spotless and spacious, and right across the street from a pristine beach. The people were friendly. Our room had a kitchenette, and we could grill on the patio. We would like to come back next year.

Room Tip: The Inn's website describes each room in detail. Check it out!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We needed a place at short notice for one night to attend a wedding nearby. The owner graciously booked us at short notice, waiving their 2 night policy during this time period since they still had a room open. Their rooms all have new air conditioning, we were grateful for that due to the heat wave with temperatures in the 90's. Our room was on the ground floor facing the street, and the beach right across. Traffic was light, and room very quiet. Did not notice road noise at all during the night. Take the owners suggestion for breakfast down the street, great eggs benedict at a great price. They do not have a kitchen here but do have muffins and coffee available in the office. Our room was very clean and a good size. The owner also was kind enough to research and print out better directions for us to the wedding location, our google map directions were kind of confusing, so her local imput was greatly appreciated. Oh, and the bed was a huge comfortable king, with 4 pillows, 2 soft and 2 firm, great for us since we each like a different one. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onsetinnmanager, Manager at Inn on Onset Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our inn.
This is a labor of love for us and we are very happy that you were pleased with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onset
4.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wareham Buzzards Bay
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 8 in Bourne
107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantic Motel
Atlantic Motel
#1 of 3 in East Wareham
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
989 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 6 in Sandwich
334 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cranberry Gardens Inn
Cranberry Gardens Inn
#1 of 4 in Wareham
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Onset Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Onset Bay

Address: 181 Onset Avenue, Onset, MA 02558
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Onset
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Onset
Price Range: $216 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Onset Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Onset Bay sits atop the bluffs in the village of Onset, a seaside community nestled on the west end of the Cape Cod Canal. Once a popular vacation destination for travelers the world over, Onset has become one of Cape Cod's "hidden treasures" with beautiful views, breathtaking sunrises and a place where serene beaches and quiet nights welcome visitors to step back in time. All of our rooms have private baths, air conditioning, flat screen tv's, hair dryers, iron and ironing boards. Many have kitchenettes with compact refrigerators, and microwaves. Please note that we DO NOT allow any cooking. We offer coffee and tea in the morning and a barbecue grill for use in our court yard. Onset is a pedestrian friendly village so you can choose to not get back in your car until departure if rest and relaxation is your goal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on Onset Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Onset Bay Hotel Onset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing