We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our family favorite places to camp!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Acres Family Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of our family favorite places to camp!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We're are looking forward to our 6th year of camping at Pine Acres. We planned our first trip there, and ever since we book right away for the following summer. Initially we were there for a week, but now we spend the first 2 weeks each July there and love it. There are great activities for kids and families, and the staff really work hard to make sure that people have a good time. We love the themed weekends, family movie nights, crafts, and of course the pool and lake. In 2011 we discovered the free tennis lessons which were wonderful and we look forward to more of that. The sites and facilities are clean and the staff are kind, friendly, and helpful. We love the dog park - it's large, clean, and open. The whole park is pet friendly which we appreciate. Our kids love riding their bikes, fishing and canoeing on the lake, and catching frogs in the smaller ponds. The 4th of July Fireworks display over the lake and the party on the beach are a blast. During the week of July 4th it can be busy and boisterous which has more to do with the guests and the time of year than anything else. For that reason we appreciate that camp staff patrol and strictly enforce quiet hours. So if you're a wild, loud partier...do us all a favor and find yourself another campground. This is a great place for families and grown ups alike with lots to do. It's also a great place to just kick back and relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    13
    9
    12
See reviews for
80
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Ipswich, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Spent the weekend and 120 bucks on two nights of camping. Nothing special honestly, the place is clean, the bathroom and showers are clean. There seems to be a lot of families there. We found it to be loud, quiet hours start at 11pm on the weekend and that's a bit unusual for a campground, where normal quiet hours have been between 9 and 10pm. It is extremely loud in the evenings, don't plan on going to bed any earlier than 11. Saturday night they had a private party at the campground, which they closed the pool early to us paying guests and had what sounded like live (EXTREMELY loud) music right up until 11pm. If this is a family campground, that's a little extreme....if you have younger children who go to bed earlier than that, you are screwed, its too noisy to even think about sleeping. The pool was the best part of this place, but I can imagine its get really crowded during the summer because the pool isn't that big. Don't even think about going to the beach at the 'lake'. Its a muck pond, not suitable for swimming. Dark and muddy muck bottom just inches from the shore. Not worth the cost and we probably will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rachelhale821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We've stayed at the wilderness campsites three times now and have always enjoyed ourselves. They have lots of activities for the kids and it is well maintained. The only thing we wish they had is swings at the playground. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MAtravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed 2 nights this August at Pine Acres Campground. This was our first time camping there. We had a great time with lots to do for the kids. Great pool with fun water splash area next to the pool (great for little ones to splash in). Pool was freeeezzzzing however, even in August. Don't know why it was so cold, hard to get in. The hot tub was fabulous, downside was they wouldn't let the kids in for even just a few minutes - and they were dying to get in. Said it was a Mass law but I think that is not true. A few days after this camping trip we went to Cape Cod and the kids were welcome in the hot tub there! Anyway, this campground had fairly good tenting sites, and cabins to rent. We tented to I can't comment on how the cabins are. The are located near or on the lake. The lake look stagnant and not swimable to me - which is a shame. The water certainly would have been warmer than the pool but we stuck to the pool. Even though the lake was large it looked liked stagnant dirty pond water. The campground has a sandy volleyball area, tennis court, basketball court, general store, ice cream, sit down food service, arcade room, mini golf, playground, mining for gems on the weekends, crafts, a few programs for kids, kayaks/boats to rent and lots of places tor kids to ride their bikes. All the tenting sites are up a good hill so you will get a good work out throughout the day walking back to your site after visiting the pool, lake and other areas of the campground. The showers are hot, clean, and free, best ones are in the building near the general store. We needed to switch our site after the first night because someone was coming into it. They told us nothing was available for the second night except the road enbankment site on the other side of the dirt road. So we took it, not a nice site but it was only one night, so we didn't mind too much. But it turned out 2 other nice sites near our first site stayed open that night and all through the next day. We could have used one of them. All in all we had fun. A bit pricey but nice campground.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed Aug 11-14, 2011. We had a premium waterfront site and it was a beautiul site. We camp a lot. We enjoy checking out different campgrounds and this was our first time going to a camp ground in Massachusetts. It was definitly the most expensive camp ground we had ever stayed at, and yes we have had and paid for premium water front sites at other campgrounds. Despite having a beautiful view and a good sized site, people were contstantly walking on our site to get to the lake. Our site looked right into 2 other sites. There was very little privacy at this campground. They put camper on top of camper. We went with friends who had a tenting site and when we went to theit site it was even more populated then our site. The pool was very cool looking with an amazing splash zone, however, our kids lips were purple after spending just a short time in the pool. The pool was so cold I didnt go in it. You would figure with how pricey this campground is they could maybe spring for a heater or solar cover for the pool. We went to the lake which was much warmer. Security was a constant presence at the campground and on Saturday the state police were there. This made me very uneasy. To me, seeing that kind of security made me wonder what happened at the campground that they needed that kind of security and the state police. The campground bathrooms only had 2 stalls by our site and 2 showers. There was a constant line at the bathrooms and they were consistenlty out of toilet paper or getting clogged. I will say they were clean though but considering the campground was sold out they need more rest rooms. It seemed that we couldnt do anything right there though. We were told we couldnt sit on the lounge chairs with out a towel, we were told by 3 different people between 11:00 pm and 11:15 pm to make sure we had our fire out by midnight, our friends had their cell phone radio on, which is not very loud at all because it doesnt even have a speaker, they were told to shut it off at 11:00pm. To us, the staff was not very friendly. We will not be going back. We are camping this weekend in Nh we are actually camping a full night longer and paying 85 dollars less then what we paid at Pine Acres. The site is bigger and a lot more private. The sites are covered by trees so we are not looking right into out neighbors site. This pool is huge and heated, so we are really looking forward to staying at a campground with all the similar amenities as Pine Acres but for less money, more activites for the kids to do, friendly staff, and fairly private sites.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bowlingirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I just returned from Pine Acres (we stayed Aug 6-Aug 13) and was so pleased with this camping resort. My husband and I went along with our three daughters ages 11, 4 and 2 as well as two of my daughter's friends also aged 11 and everyone loved it. We stayed in a premiun waterfront cabin and what a view did it have!!! It was so clean and well maintained and that is the cabin as well as the whole campground. The staff was so helpful and friendly and there was always something to do for the kids. I would definately return to Pine Acres again in the near future as well as recommend it to all of my friends and family. What a great place to bring your family and just spend quality time together!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I would highly recommended this campground. Great activities for kids of all ages. Clean lake for boating and fishing. Awesome pool and hottub.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Susanlang44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakham
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Worcester
12.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Worcester
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Worcester Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Auburn
Hampton Inn Auburn
#1 of 5 in Auburn
406 reviews
14.0 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#6 of 9 in Worcester
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Acres Family Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Acres Family Camping Resort

Property: Pine Acres Family Camping Resort
Address: 203 Bechan Rd, Oakham, MA 01068-9724
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Oakham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Oakham
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Pine Acres Family Camping Hotel Oakham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing