We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vineyard comfort”
Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madison Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vineyard comfort”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had checked other places, but settled on the Madison Inn and after walking around, we were pleased with our choice. The room was clean and nicely appointed. The coffee bar with all my favorite Keurig coffees and the morning sweet breads, fruit, granola bars and afternoon cookies was great. We were close to the ferry and the bus, which was convenient to get around to sightsee the island. The enclosed patio was a nice place to sit with coffee or bring back takeout and eat outside. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Loved our stay!

Room Tip: We were outside and upstairs and found it to be quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    113
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
189
238
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwick
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here this past weekend and loved it. It was perfectly located a street away from the Ferry so easy carrying our bags there and in the heart of the Small town. The Inn Was very clean, nicely decorated and our room was very comfy. The owner and her daughter were taking turns at the front desk and they both were great at suggestions on what there was to do around the Island.
They had had all the extras for you. Beach coolers, blankets, towels, etc and they also had popcicles that my boyfriend couldnt get enough of! What a great touch for the guests!
We cant wait till we stay again and a bit longer. Highly reccommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinf77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The Madison Inn was the perfect location. just a few steps from the dock. We chose room 14 its right on the main floor. Easy to come and go from the front or the back. Nice porch in the front and patio in the back. Use of towels and beach chairs. A very short walk to the beach. And a great place to eat next to the Inn.

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for. The web site is very good to help you pick the perfect room for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My friend and I went on the first weekend of summer during Harborfest and I had been before with my cousin but did not stay. We only stayed for a night and I searched every other Inn around Oak Bluffs and Madison Inn was the only one that would accept a one night stay, granted for a little extra per night. But the place is great cause it's right in the heart of Oak Bluffs near everything. The offer great amenities in the lobby like free snacks, ice cream sandwiches, popsicles, fruit, water, coffee, and tea all the time. They also have beach towels, mats, and small coolers and bags if you need them to go to the beach. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean and inviting and we paid a little extra to get the room with the two queen beds which was worth it because I have seen one with just the one queen bed and its quite small. The Staff is super friendly and they have a book with the best restaurant suggestions for every meal and their menus. Next time I go to the Vineyard I will definitely stay here again if I go with a friend or significant other.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janmack79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband & I had a wonderful experience at the Madison Inn for our 38th anniversary. Mary & Heather made us feel right at home from the breakfast treats (Did you see the Apple Fritters! YUM!!) and K cup coffees in the morning, to the cookies and drinks in the afternoon! They were especially helpful when offering suggestions on where to dine, as we were first timers on Martha's Vineyard. Our room was also warm and welcoming and spotless!! We would highly suggest this clean and friendly inn, near to just about everything in Oak Bluffs: from the shopping, dining, Flying Horses carousel, to the bus transfer and the ferry! It has it all!

Room Tip: First floor are accessible to the patio and office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and me always went to the Vineyard for the day but this time we were looking to stay at least one night! So we picked the Madison Inn because of the good reviews and the location, plus it was reasonably priced! A lot of places on the island are pricey and if u live outside Boston it's easy to just feel like you can enjoy the day without staying over night and waste money!
Well, this place is just what you're looking for, believe me! Perfect location in Oak Bluffs next door to two amazing restaurants and steps away from everything...ferry, beach, Main St, Gas station, bar, restaurants, moped/bike rental, bus stop, you name it! The Inn is clean, tastfully updated and quiet! Rooms are spacious and homey! But the staff/owners take the cake! Extremelly pleasant, smiley and helpfull people! Give us the the perfect tip for a moped rental and which beach to go, where to eat, I even forgot my iPhone charger and the guy lend me his for the whole day!!
Believe me, u can't beat this place! Awesome! 5+ stars! We're already planning to go back soon! :)))

Room Tip: Unlike most of other places on the island where it's better if u call, the Madison Inn has an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've been vacationing on the Vineyard for over 30 years but always stayed in a vacation rental. I only had a few days to stay on the island and found this inn which is in a great location, a block away from the Oak Bluffs Ocean Park (so the ferry from Woods Hole is just a walk away as well as the bus stop to Vineyard Haven and Edgartown), Flying Horses Carousel and Circuit Avenue.

The owners did a great job renovating the inn and the staff is extremely friendly! When we made our reservations the front desk person informed us of the various rooms that would fit our needs, when we got to the inn she even brought us into any unoccupied rooms so that we could see what they looked like. The little things they do made our stay that much more enjoyable such as providing beach towels, chairs, coolers and bags; complimentary coffee/tea/fruit/granola bars and treats all day; they even puled out wine glasses and opener so we could enjoy a bottle on the sunny patio. For rainy days you can grab a book from the bookshelf and sit in one of the comfy chairs in front of the fireplace or grab a board game and play with your family/friends/other guests at the large game table by the window.

This will be my new go-to place to stay whenever I go to the Vineyard!!!!!

Room Tip: The inn is flanked by restaurants on either side and sits on a busy road. Room #6 was the largest an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
345 reviews
5.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
935 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Property: Madison Inn
Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing