We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Madison Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went prior to the height of the season. The staff was so accommodating and just very friendly. They gave us great tips on where to eat and what to enjoy. I love the small patio that is hidden just above the street. We were able to enjoy private moments with our family and friends. Would definitely go again. Great access to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor seem to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    111
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
184
233
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My family's experience at this cute Martha's vineyard inn was great. We were visiting the island just for the night and this was a very convenient location. It is located at a short 3-4 min walking distance from the Oak Bluffs ferry terminal and is very close to the main street there. The staff was incredibly warm and friendly and helped us decide a short itinerary for our stay. The room was very bright, well done up and comfortable. Our short stay was perfect and there were no complains. The breakfast, though limited, was good quality and filling. For a budget inn, it gives great quality and a lovely feel. I would certainly recommend it to couples and families alike and will definitely choose to stay here the next time we visit the island.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank h0neymoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

This was my first time in Martha's Vineyard and I was very please with our stay at the Madison Inn. It was a great room--very clean with nice furnishings and everything we needed. As others have mentioned, there was Keurig, tea, fruit, and granola bars, which were great for me when I woke up first and had to tide myself over before brunch. There is a clean shared fridge, and coolers, beach chairs, towels, and beach bags to borrow, which was great. Everything was just as it should be.

In addition, this is a great location. It is right in the middle of all of the restaurants and activity in Oak Bluffs. While there was no on-site parking, there is 24-hour free parking just down the street. We visited in mid-May and had no trouble finding a spot close by.

I really enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keelin Blaith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights a couple of weekends before Memorial Day. From the minute I made a reservation to the very end, it was a great experience. Mary, the owner emailed me and once I told her we were celebrating our anniversary she offered to give us sparkling wine on the house. There was no way to recork the bottle, but Mary bent over backwards to find us some corks.

If you don't mind beating the summer rush to Martha's Vineyard, I definitely recommend taking advantage of the pre-season rates here. We paid $99/night.

We took the ferry from Wood's bluff to vineyard haven and used the island bus transit system to get around. It was an efficient system and the bus stop is only a hop skip and jump away from the Inn. Everything is pretty close to the Inn.

Having access to a fridge, free beack towels, coolers etc was great. We went grocery shopping locally and used the supplies to pack lunches and save some money. Access to keurig coffee, granola bars, fruit etc was nice. I did think that there would be breakfast included (thanks to being a 'bed and breakfast'), but that was my own oversight.

We were booked to stay in room 5, but when we arrived Mary offered us room 6 which was bigger and had an ocean view. We loved it. We enjoyed the free board games and books as well.

The Inn was kind enough to keep our luggage stored on the day we checked out so we could take advantage of our time there and not have to wheel our suitcases around.

we LOVED the homely feel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: we were in the main building and it was very quiet with easy access to the community fridge and coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We've stayed for a couple of nights at the Madison Inn recently. We like the room (Room 11) we stayed. It wasn't a big room but it was very clean and the decoration of the room was neat and pleasant. The location of the inn was ideal. It was only steps away from the beach, the restaurants, and the shopping stores. We like to ride bicycles on the island, and the bicycle rental shops were a block away. Insider the room, there were free snacks and bottle water, and there were free K-cup coffee, tea, fruit and granola bars in the hallway next to the lobby. The hotel owner, Mary, was very nice and friendly. She gave us good recommendations on where to go and where to eat. Overall, the stay was a very pleasant experience. We definitely would like to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went for a few nights with my girlfriend in May of 2012, just day before Memorial Day weekend. There wasn't any real problem with this place. It was just very average, nothing special. The room we stayed at (either Room 2 or Room 3 according to their website) was very tight. The bathroom was actually a stepdown opening with a door that was difficult. I was basically tripping every time, plus it wasn't very private in there.
The Inn itself seemed small but quiet. I ran into a person staying there that was rude. Didn't help the experience. The staff was not as friendly as I had hoped. When you go on a vacation, you don't want to be thought of as someone who is a tourist. They kind of put that feeling in me.
Anyway, this is my opinion on the place. I think that Martha's Vineyard is overrated, so this might help some people, others, not so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleb_Caldwell, Owner at Madison Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are glad to have the opportunity to respond to this guest's concerns. The room this guest is describing is room #2 and it is indeed our very smallest room; it is small but it is priced lower than our other rooms owing to it's diminutive size, and it does sell out as often as all our other rooms. Room #2 has a full size bed and is comfortably furnished; the bathroom is small but is entirely new and rebuilt as of March 2012.

We regret that this guest encountered another guest at the Madison Inn who seemed "rude". We can assure you that the Madison Inn draws a wonderful clientele and that this guest's experience is quite an anomaly, as reflected by the abundance of positive reviews here on Trip Advisor. This guest's comment about Martha's Vineyard being "overrated" is perhaps most telling. It doesn't sound as if their experience overall was what they had hoped for and that Martha's Vineyard in general disappointed them, not the Madison Inn in particular. Martha's Vineyard has been a premier destination for fun and relaxation and renewal since the mid-18th century. There is much to love about our island and it obviously appeals to a large segment of the vacationing public year after year. We welcome all of you with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent a weekend here recently while attending a family wedding, and we found it a delightful place to stay. There were four of us, and we had two rooms, my husband and I had the small but well-appointed Room 2 at the top of the stairs; my mother-in-law and sister-in-law had the larger Room 8, in the annex off the courtyard. All the rooms were beautifully decorated. Ours had excellent light for reading, with spotlights above the double bed. There was even a black washcloth in the bathroom to avoid getting mascara on the white towels. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate, along with fruit and granola bars, were available in the lobby, with banana bread in the morning and cookies in the afternoon. The inn was steps away from restaurants, shopping, the Camp Meeting grounds, etc. - everything one wants to see in Oak Bluffs. We didn't bring a car over on this trip, so the lack of parking was not an issue. Service was terrific and we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Photos of all the rooms are available on their website. Each is a bit different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGHHartsdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isabelle's Beach House
Isabelle's Beach House
#4 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Property: Madison Inn
Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing