We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal location; Clean and well decorated room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madison Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Ideal location; Clean and well decorated room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We've stayed for a couple of nights at the Madison Inn recently. We like the room (Room 11) we stayed. It wasn't a big room but it was very clean and the decoration of the room was neat and pleasant. The location of the inn was ideal. It was only steps away from the beach, the restaurants, and the shopping stores. We like to ride bicycles on the island, and the bicycle rental shops were a block away. Insider the room, there were free snacks and bottle water, and there were free K-cup coffee, tea, fruit and granola bars in the hallway next to the lobby. The hotel owner, Mary, was very nice and friendly. She gave us good recommendations on where to go and where to eat. Overall, the stay was a very pleasant experience. We definitely would like to come back for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    105
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
178
219
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Went for a few nights with my girlfriend in May of 2012, just day before Memorial Day weekend. There wasn't any real problem with this place. It was just very average, nothing special. The room we stayed at (either Room 2 or Room 3 according to their website) was very tight. The bathroom was actually a stepdown opening with a door that was difficult. I was basically tripping every time, plus it wasn't very private in there.
The Inn itself seemed small but quiet. I ran into a person staying there that was rude. Didn't help the experience. The staff was not as friendly as I had hoped. When you go on a vacation, you don't want to be thought of as someone who is a tourist. They kind of put that feeling in me.
Anyway, this is my opinion on the place. I think that Martha's Vineyard is overrated, so this might help some people, others, not so much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caleb_Caldwell, Owner at Madison Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We are glad to have the opportunity to respond to this guest's concerns. The room this guest is describing is room #2 and it is indeed our very smallest room; it is small but it is priced lower than our other rooms owing to it's diminutive size, and it does sell out as often as all our other rooms. Room #2 has a full size bed and is comfortably furnished; the bathroom is small but is entirely new and rebuilt as of March 2012.

We regret that this guest encountered another guest at the Madison Inn who seemed "rude". We can assure you that the Madison Inn draws a wonderful clientele and that this guest's experience is quite an anomaly, as reflected by the abundance of positive reviews here on Trip Advisor. This guest's comment about Martha's Vineyard being "overrated" is perhaps most telling. It doesn't sound as if their experience overall was what they had hoped for and that Martha's Vineyard in general disappointed them, not the Madison Inn in particular. Martha's Vineyard has been a premier destination for fun and relaxation and renewal since the mid-18th century. There is much to love about our island and it obviously appeals to a large segment of the vacationing public year after year. We welcome all of you with open arms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent a weekend here recently while attending a family wedding, and we found it a delightful place to stay. There were four of us, and we had two rooms, my husband and I had the small but well-appointed Room 2 at the top of the stairs; my mother-in-law and sister-in-law had the larger Room 8, in the annex off the courtyard. All the rooms were beautifully decorated. Ours had excellent light for reading, with spotlights above the double bed. There was even a black washcloth in the bathroom to avoid getting mascara on the white towels. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate, along with fruit and granola bars, were available in the lobby, with banana bread in the morning and cookies in the afternoon. The inn was steps away from restaurants, shopping, the Camp Meeting grounds, etc. - everything one wants to see in Oak Bluffs. We didn't bring a car over on this trip, so the lack of parking was not an issue. Service was terrific and we look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Photos of all the rooms are available on their website. Each is a bit different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GGHHartsdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesdale, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wow, never heard of this place before, but it looked nice so I called and spoke with the owner. First surprise . Second was getting a one night reservation on a holiday weekend. Third was getting there and seeing a very clean looking and smelling room. And again, when we arrived the owner was behind the desk. All in all, great stay in a great inn with nice amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jfio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 1 night at the Madison Inn in August 2013. The owner, family & staff were very friendly and helpful. The Inn is in easy walking distance of the ferry, beach, buses, restaurants, shopping, etc. We loved that it was such a convenient spot. Our room was very comfortable and quiet, overlooking a nice patio. Nothing fancy, but very good. The Inn had a nice coffee & snack table, board games, beach towels, etc. We will certainly consider this for future trips to the Vineyard.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautiful, clean room, very friendly and helpful staff (Mary) and all around lovely stay. The snack bar was open all day long with fresh fruit, granola bars and coffee/tea! My husband and I are vegan and Mary was able to point us in the right direction for food. The Slice of Life was very good but they up charge $2 for hummus even if you take off meat and cheese- the most expensive item! I would defiantly go back to The Madison!

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 7 which is right off the courtyard- it was a little loud with some children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Ozarks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This could have been a disastrous girls' week except Blanche at the Madison Inn rescued us. My friend had booked us into a timeshare exchange in Vineyard Haven. Upon arrival we knew this was not a good situation. We did not feel safe and it was not a condo......it wasn't even a nice hotel room. We went to Oak Bluffs for dinner. While there we stopped in at the Madison to see if they had any availability. Why the Madison? Because I had stayed there with my family this summer during the Grand Illumination and it was a wonderful experience. Blanche welcomed me back and said she would find us a room, if we wanted to move. After a horrible night at the first place, we moved to the Madison the next day. Our room was great, tastefully decorated, clean and roomy. Blanche and Mary were so helpful all through our stay. When I need a taxi to the airport for a business meeting, they recommended the most reliable and least expensive company. On the afternoon we went to Menemsha for a lobster dinner, Blanche packed a bag with towels, lobster crackers and forks and wine glasses. (you need to bring your own wine.) I cannot say enough good things about our time at the Madison Inn. It will be my first choice whenever I go back to Martha's.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunzTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Property: Madison Inn
Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing