We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous week at the Madison Inn”
Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madison Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This could have been a disastrous girls' week except Blanche at the Madison Inn rescued us. My friend had booked us into a timeshare exchange in Vineyard Haven. Upon arrival we knew this was not a good situation. We did not feel safe and it was not a condo......it wasn't even a nice hotel room. We went to Oak Bluffs for dinner. While there we stopped in at the Madison to see if they had any availability. Why the Madison? Because I had stayed there with my family this summer during the Grand Illumination and it was a wonderful experience. Blanche welcomed me back and said she would find us a room, if we wanted to move. After a horrible night at the first place, we moved to the Madison the next day. Our room was great, tastefully decorated, clean and roomy. Blanche and Mary were so helpful all through our stay. When I need a taxi to the airport for a business meeting, they recommended the most reliable and least expensive company. On the afternoon we went to Menemsha for a lobster dinner, Blanche packed a bag with towels, lobster crackers and forks and wine glasses. (you need to bring your own wine.) I cannot say enough good things about our time at the Madison Inn. It will be my first choice whenever I go back to Martha's.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MunzTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (627)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 627 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a charming inn with a great location. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants and the water. Friendly staff who were very helpful and knowledgeable of the island. We stayed in room #6 and loved it!

Room Tip: Room 6 has more room than most, but there is no elevator and it is upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shebasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I would highly recommend staying at the Madison Inn. We were checked in even though we arrived quite early. We gave them our cell phone number and were called immediately when the room was ready. There was always granola bars, fruit, baked goods, coffee, tea, and water available. The rooms were very clean and fine for what we needed. The location was perfect. Service was also quite good. No complaints here...I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thank you Madison Inn Staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddymaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just returned from beautiful Martha's Vineyard and a wonderful stay at the Madison Inn! I cannot say enough about this fabulous little Inn-just go, you will not be dissappointed!
Rooms are very nicely appointed (Rm 11 has an ocean view from back window!), great ammenities (anything you need for the beach, fridge for leftovers, games/books, wine glasses and coffee/tea/fruit/snacks!).
The Inn is a five minute walk from the Oak Bluffs ferry and a ten minute bus ride from the Vineyard Haven ferry (bus stop minutes from the Inn). We were able to leave our luggage in a side room as we arrived early which let us wander around the beautiful neighbourhood and on checkout we were able to do the same.Owner and staff are so amazing, truly welcoming,friendly and accomodating!
Thank you for a wonderful stay-we will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our room, # 15, was very user friendly regarding accessibility and privacy with no rooms above or abutting. The decor was lovely, the amenities excellent, LOTS of FLUFFY TOWELS. The Inn is well situated for convenience to the area's shopping and dining. The only hitch is that the traffic can be noisy during the night and the room's proximity to the street causes one to hear the late night revelers.--not really the Inn's fault. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecile G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The lady at Madison Inn was very helpful in giving us directions for places to eat and visit. Madison Inn was very convenience place to stay because it is right in town where we can take many short walk to places and restaurants in the town of Oak Bluffs including bus stops close by. Not only that, the beach is so close and it was beautiful to walk along it and you can even go swimming and/or fishing. We had a car and was able to drive all over Martha's Vineyard with ease including visiting the Island Alpaca farm, Ginger Cottages, Chappaquiddick Island, Black Dog Bakery/Cafe(in Vineyard Haven near Tisbury), and saw all of the 5 lighthouses. The restaurants in Oak Bluffs were wonderful including breakfast!
We went in 3rd week-end of September and there was hardly any traffic which made our visit even more pleasant. The Madison Inn is so cozy and friendly... we had two twin beds in room#1 with our own balcony to sit out on second floor. We preferred this kind of homey style over the modern hotel and will stay in Madison Inn again in a heart beat!

Room Tip: We checked on Madison Inn website and with travel Advisor's comment about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satyndall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay! They are so accommodating of the nearby adventures, offering beach towels, bottles of water, backpacks, sunblock, utensils etc. Blanche behind the counter was just the loveliest. They have 24hr coffee/tea/fruit and snacks (including local baked goods in the AM). My room (#10 - two queen beds) was lovely, spacious and comfortable. The location is central and there are fabulous restaurants and goodies all around. I'll definitely return and tell others!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tttbbbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
0.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
627 reviews
5.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
147 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range: $89 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing