We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madison Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The innkeepers are extremely friendly and helpful. The inn is immaculate and service was prompt and accurate. We were biking and the inn has secure indoor storage as well as all the additional gear like beach chairs, towels and coolers. We were checked in early and there was no rush to remove luggage before our late afternoon ferry. Not a true B and B but there was always coffee, fruit and pastries or cookies. Only downside is location is a bit noisy as it is right downtown and our room was street side.

Room Tip: Room 16 has extra space and a full kitchenette for a modest up charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    111
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
185
233
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Madison Inn was such a pleasant experience. Not knowing what to expect , we were more than pleased with our accommodations. We had a very tastefully decorated room. The extras of coffee, fruit and afternoon cookies was an unexpected treat. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. We would definitely return and I have already recommended it to a find.

Jane B.

Room Tip: Twin room with private bath and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great stay at the Madison Inn! It's within walking distance of everything ( amazing restaurants, beach, and shopping centers). The rooms were spotless and we had everything we needed. The island is a beauty, but the Madison Inn made all of it more memorable. Thank you!

Can't wait to go back! Absolutely the bbbbbbbbbeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssssstttttttttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room #2 is small but very quaint and beautiful! Perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EtotheDLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochellerk, New York, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A really nice hotel close to restaurants, shops, beach and ferry. Staff was very helpful. Complimentary snacks available, as well as beach chairs and umbrellas for the beach. Small and cozy den with books and brochures.
A definite winner

Room Tip: Close to ferry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Madison Inn in Oak Bluffs is a wonderful place to stay. It's is charming and comfortable with a convenient location close to the beach, shopping and restaurants
The staff is so welcoming! They even provided coffee and cookies for the guests! I would stay there again and again. Loved it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalachin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I highly recomend the Madison Inn!! The rooms were comforable and stylish. The courtyard is a nice treat to have your morning coffee - and the front porch is lovely to enjoy that glass of wine before bed. Located 1 block away of the pier - you can easily walk to your room - no need for a taxi. 1 block the other direction is the enchanting Circuit Avenue where you can shop, eat, rent a scooter, harley, ride a carousal, get a 'back door donut' - or just sit and have a beer and look out at the surf!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamarple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great place to stay. The Inn is clean and well kept. Staff is friendly and helpful. Location is terrific, right near everthing. We would definitely stay there again. Coffee available 24/7 and great cookies!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#2 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Property: Madison Inn
Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing