We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, Friendly, Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madison Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient, Friendly, Comfortable”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed in the Madison Inn two years in a row now, and both times we have noted how convenient, friendly, and comfortable our stay has been. First, the friendly innkeeper, Blanche, has gone out of her way to offer answers to our questions, stow our luggage before and after we officially check in or out of the inn, suggest restaurants (all suggestions have been perfect for our situation and tastes), and offer her help. All of this without feeling like she is too pushy or ever-present. In addition to this great friendly help, our rooms have been clean, well-decorated, and well-maintained. For our family, having rooms which offer two queen beds (or double?) in one room is both economical and convenient for us. To add to this convenience, there is a buffet of granola bars, fresh fruit, apple pastries (in the morning), tea, coffee, and hot chocolate set up for guests to use at any time. There were afternoon cookies added each day (my diet is ruined!), and potato chips and water bottles in our rooms, with the offer of more bottles of water as we needed. In addition, we had use of the communal refrigerator for our "doggie bags" and midnight snacks, beach towels, beach chairs, "boogie boards," and sand toys for our kids. The inn's lobby has several comfortable chairs and a wooden table where we ate our lunch one day, plus games and books for kids and adults. I loved that there was a daily posting of events around the island. Add the ultimate convenience of the inn's location - just a short walk from the ferry, a short walk from the beach, a short walk from the island bus stop and information kiosk, and a short walk from all the action on the main street in Oak Bluffs. We'll surely visit the Madison Inn again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    111
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
185
233
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atkinson, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My fiance and I had an amazing stay at the Madison. We had some boat trouble, and we ended up making the last boat over to the island. The front desk was nice enough to wait up for our arrival. We used to live on the island and we try to get back each summer, the Madison was just like coming home!! Very thoughful facility. Thank you, I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillytp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, MA
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Madison Inn for the last 4 years. They provide excellent accomodations to both myself and friends that stay there as well. It is a hidden gem that I would love to keep hidden but then again it is too good not to share. Perfect vacation spot!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellness15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We LOVE the Madison Inn it is our second stay here...and we will continue to come back. The rooms, the service, and the hospitality are all top notch. DON'T look elsewhere stay here. All you have to do is bring yourself and your clothes...they have everything else you need...chairs, towels, coolers, umbrellas, beach toys, etc... If you are on an outside room it can be a little noisy in the morning because of traffic but they have earplugs for you to use.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Sadly only here for one one night. Perfect location. Lovely place.

Booked room 2 which is, due to design and size of building, a bit snug for a couple. Asked if they had a anything bigger and they upgraded us to room 10 which was amazing.

Can very highly recommend. Clean, tidy and very homely. Loved the place

Room Tip: Room 10 is worth the extra, even if it's just the two of you (I'm 6'4").
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwmc-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, CT
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We returned today from our first stay on Martha's Vineyard. I cannot say enough about the beautiful inn and the exceptional hospitality that we experienced during our stay. The location could not have been more ideal as everything was within easy walking distance. We stayed in room 10 and it was very clean, quiet and beautifully decorated. We even had a view of the water from our bathroom window where you could catch a glimpse of the sunrise. We will surely return to this inn on our next visit to the island.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SterlingMeriden_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Wonderful accommodations; charming; warm hospitality!! First trip to Martha's Vineyard and would definitely stay there next time. Location is great -- quick walk from the ferry; one block to main drag; one block to beach and bus to anywhere you want to go. Even has a little patio area secluded from the street! The owner, Mary, is so sweet, so helpful and goes out of her way to make everyone feel special and welcome. Loved the rooms we had (#6 and #10) -- pleasingly decorated and well executed with lots of hooks, shelves, drawers to make it easy for a beach vacation. She even has fruit, granola bars, Twizzlers, cookies, coffee cake, ice pops, water and coffee out all the time. We all had a wonderful time and hope to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Property: Madison Inn
Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing