We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madison Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Madison Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Service and Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Madison Inn recently while he was looking for employment on MV. Mary was great! We had a reservation for a smaller room and when it was apparent that there was a larger room available for our stay, she upgraded us on the spot. The Madison Inn is a very nice, reasonably priced, perfectly located place to stay in Oak Bluffs. You can walk to everything you want to do in Oak Bluffs: beach, shopping, dining, nightlife, etc. We also used the Inn as a place to stay for some of our guests when we had our island wedding last year - you can't get better service! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Just check the website for the room that you want. I don't imagine most guests at the Madison I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    111
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
185
233
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at Madison Inn in April, 2013. We had rooms #6 and #15. Both were a nice size, good beds, clean and comfy. #15 is right on the street, which might be a problem in summer with the windows open, but was convenient as it had its own entrance. The Inn is near everything in Oak Bluffs, a great location if you don't mind some town noise. Mary, who ran the desk, was a great help with everything, and recommended wonderful restaurants. Off season prices were an added bonus. Thanks, Madison Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a lovely time on the island in late October. The owners and staff at the Madison Inn were wonderful. The rooms were clean. The bed was very comfortable. And there are so many perks like apple fritters from Back Door Donuts. I would definitely consider this place if you are looking for a weekend away with your someone.

Room Tip: All of them are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackAttack3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I have been going to the vineyard on my birthday every year for as long as i can remember. And a nights stay at the Madison inn is now apart of the tradition. The location is perfect right in the center of things but not on busy circuit ave! The rooms are great size and very clean. And the staff its very nice and helpful. Always willing to store bags for after checkout and even before! I feel at hone and love spending my birthday in a cozy in like this one! And great value for off season. And inn season as well compared to done others on the island.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillyrosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was a real nice little place, reasonably priced and right in the center of town, very close to the ferry landing. If you didn't drive, or don't need to and want to stay on this part of the island, its walking distance from everything in Oak Bluffs. We had a room right off the street with it's own door to the outside; did not have to go through the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for the room right next to the lobby. It's easy to get to and you don't have to carry b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike4mula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I took a short weekend trip to MV and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The location was very convenient to all the key attractions in town. The innkeepers are wonderful people and the room was very clean. We'll definitely come back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lma2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My daughter and I were looking for an economical room in a convenient location for one night's stay. The Madison Inn offered us room # 1 which had two single beds, a small private balcony and a large private bath.
We arrived around noon which was way before their check-in time, however they were just about finished cleaning the room and suggested that we wait 10 mins in the lobby or on the front porch and then could occupy our room. We were happy to do so.
Our room was small with two single beds, a bureau with TV. There was adequate storage for our clothes in a chest of drawer. The bathroom was generously sized, the shower had good water pressure and ample hot water.
Bottled water and snacks were provided in the room. Coffee,tea, cookies and fruits were offered off the lobby. Here was also a refrigerator were guests could store their food items.
Madison at the front desk was friendly when taking the reservation and later upon check-in, answering our questions about sightseeing and transportation.
The next morning we were able to store our luggage in their storage room until it was time to board the ferry.
We were satisfied with the accommodations at the price we paid and would recommend this inn for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.4 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#3 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Inn

Property: Madison Inn
Address: 18 Kennebec Ave., Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Madison Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolutely charming and thoroughly affordable 15 room inn in the heart of Oak Bluffs. Always the Vineyard's best value! In town location is convenient to everything. Beautifully restored property, lovely linens and furnishings, all private baths, super friendly staff. One block from the beach and ferry. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary snacks and bottled water, flat screen TV. In-room heat and AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Madison Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Hotel Oak Bluffs
Madison Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing