We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Chop Light

East Chop Light
On Telegraph Hill, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
5086274441
Website
Improve this listing
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
445 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Whether walking on East Chop or driving by, there is a wonderful lookout point at the East Chop lighthouse .

It is a treat to see such a traditional New England lighthouse -- but the view of the Sound is also wonderful-

Definitely worth the stop!

Helpful?
2 Thank 1lacrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Nice Walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Since I love to walk, I decided to follow the road out of Oak Bluffs ..what a beautiful walk along the water with some pretty impressive houses along the way...The lighthouse itself is picturesque and the view is gorgeous. I sat on one of the benches for a while and just enjoyed the peace and quiet and the view...it was definitely worth the trek! On the way back, be cautious about going off through the grass -there was lots of poison ivy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We walked from Oak Bluffs and though we went the wrong way, when we rounded a corner and there it was! Wish we had been there when it was open, but still worth the walk (a mile or so...)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice on a brisk walk or run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't known that I would see this light house when I came around the corner I was surprised! Its well cap and has a nice little sign and it's a great spot for a picture. Continue your walk and it will loop you're around come around the hood and then back around sunset late. Then follow it through rina great walkie

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichAube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great photo spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great light house in an area within walking distance of circuit avenue. If you walk there you can check out some gorgeous houses and enjoy the great view of cape cod from the road. The light house is rather small but has an amazing view and its a great spot for a photo stop! Definitely recommend it

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MillyVieques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Chop Light also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to East Chop Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing