We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the atmosphere”

Coop de Ville Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Carmel, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat the atmosphere”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We love this place. It is an awesome spot right along oak bluffs dock. The food is nothing fancy but is always tasty. We love the wings and raw bar. And always a good selection of draft beer. And most of all they are very friendly. We always try and go to Coop at least once or twice when on the vineyard. A great place to hang out and watch the sights.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    56
    23
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cool atmosphere,”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This restaurant has a pub atmosphere and a very nice nice dockside view. I ate a quick lunch while waiting for my ferry to arrive to take me back to Hyannis. The fish sandwich with fries was standard fare, not extraordinary, but still tasty after a full day of fishing and no fish!

The fish sandwich with fries (takeout and eat by dock) was only $9.09. It was gone in about 5 seconds, not because it was small but because I was damn hungry. You do have the option of sitting down and being waited on, but that wasn't for me at this time.

I would definitely eat here again. There are a few other sit-down restaurants alongside the dock to choose from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“sit outside at the marina, great view & food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

it's pub atmosphere & pub food...but elevated. I go places for atmosphere and the people are
friendly & fun. had steamers (very small portion) but were cooked in a veg broth & great. I had
2 stuffed chohogs that were the best!! not frozen, had carrots,onions,grn pepppers & moist stuffing---friend had grilled chick sand & it was moist & great also.
...this pier is a send-off for fishing trips & viewing trips...so, great people watching. Next time, we
are doing an am fishing trip...can't wait!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jefferson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“dining with a view”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

every year during our trip to the vineyard we always make it a point to go to coop de ville restaurant at dockside marketplace in oak bluffs.They have great food at an affordable price.The menu includes seafood,wings,a variety of sandwiches and anything in between.It is not a fancy place and it's outside but the view of the boats in the harbor makes it worth the trip while you enjoy a delicious meal.You may have to wait to get seated as it is very busy during the summer season,but the wait is worth it.We went this year the week after labor day and there was no waiting,and had a great dining experience.I would recommend you try coop de ville on you next trip to the vineyard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Total tourist trap”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

If you want a restaurant overlooking the Marina at Oak Bluffs, with a barker pulling you in and very poor food at a high price, then you are the type for this place.
The fried clams that they tout were doughy, thick fried and no taste of clams. Very small portion of clams at a inflated price. Limited beer options
There were not many choices of beers. Service was okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mornayway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coop de Ville Restaurant also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Coop de Ville Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing