We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a view”

Fishbones Bar & Grille
Ranked #20 of 54 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Located at Dockside Marina right by the Hyline Ferry overlooking the Harbor. Fresh grilled entrees, Tacos, seafood, raw bar & refreshing drinks. Home of the upside down drinks. Under new ownership since 2014.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had lunch here with friends and food and beverage were good, service was a bit slow, which was odd given we visited when they were not very busy. Regardless, sitting there, sipping on an adult beverage while we overlooked Oak Bluffs Harbor, hard to beat that. We all enjoyed our food, my only complaint is that my buffalo chicken fingers were served on "paper" in a plastic basket, not on a plate, and as I cut into them, sauce dripped through the basket and into my lap. I'll ask for a plate next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishbones G, Owner at Fishbones Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. We apologize for the issue with the buffalo fingers. They are supposed to be served with side plates so there is no mess. We have alerted the staff and reminded them to use side plates in the future. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Definitely not an "upscale" restaurant like others mentioned. Ordered a stuffed lobster tail because did not want to crack lobster shells tonight; instead got a full lobster with the stuffing (mostly bread) on the side. Oh yeah, and it was cold in the middle. Staff offered a free beer for my troubles.

Just an ok restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatsDynasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishbones G, Owner at Fishbones Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

We apologize for your experience at Fishbones. We investigated what happened during your service and discovered that the kitchen staff had misread the ticket and prepared a steamed lobster rather than a baked stuffed lobster. The proper response would have been to get you the correct lobster, not send out stuffing. We have retrained our kitchen staff in the proper procedures to ensure it does not happen again. Thank you for your feedback, as you can see from our recent reviews we have completely revamped our kitchen staff, servers and procedures to ensure that we always have top quality service and staff. Thank you again for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

First stop off the ferry we ended up at Fishbones for a cocktail with a view. Place was busy at the bar with many locals chatty about their day. Service was good and we ended up going back there our last day and purchased their t-shirt.

Thank Fairgrove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishbones G, Owner at Fishbones Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, in 2012 we completely revamped our kitchen staff, servers and procedures to ensure that we always have top quality service and staff. Glad to hear it is working.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Arriving early in Oak Bluffs on Martha's Vineyard recently, our room wasn't ready so the owner suggested we walk just yards away to Fishbones on the harbor dock. The restaurant and bar are open-air so there are no real windows to interfere with the view of the harbor, and its ever moving boats and ferries. When it begins to rain or the wind comes up, the plastic flaps come down, keeping everyone snug, comfortable and dry. We found the bar the most comfortable location, in the sun and in the rain. Cold, raw local osyters, fish tacos and a couple of martinis started ouir love affair with this small, unsophisticated friendly location with great food. We ate nearly every lunch and dinner here, chatting up the staff and getting to know one another on a first name basis. Look for Kristin (the brunette) and Kristin (the blonde) to serve you at the bar - both are fun, full of energy, and lots of wonderful suggestions about what to do on the island but more importantly on what to eat and drink at Fishbones. One of the best suggestions was the Shark Bites - which were simply delicious with their spicey dipping sauce. We also had lobster rolls, a lobster Caesar salad and Fishbones' version of fish and chips - the food never disappointed nor did the casual comfort of this location. We loved it especially because it wasn't crowded compared to some other places we'd checked out. Now these were some chilly, mid-June "pre-season" days, but those are the days we love the most at a place like this. When we left the island, we agreed Fishbones would be one of our fondest memories. Thanks guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CDWBridgehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishbones G, Owner at Fishbones Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback, in 2012 we completely revamped our kitchen staff, servers and procedures to ensure that we always have top quality service and staff. We have relayed your positive comments to the staff to let them know that their extra effort is paying off!! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to giddiness for years and the food used to be much better! the last tine turned me off for a while. I ordered the lobster roll something that hardtop be amazing. However this time was awful. I couldn't taste lobster it tasted like celery and only celery, and it want cheap at all! Other people in my group got the fish tacos and shark bites. The fish tacos were bland as were the shark bites. Overall we saw a beautiful subset and waited for someone to realize we were finished the service was awful and we had a different member of the wait staff each time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lillyrosea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishbones Bar & Grille also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Fishbones Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing