We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated Terribly by Staff”
Review of Smoke 'N Bones - CLOSED

Smoke 'N Bones
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Treated Terribly by Staff”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our large group was heckled for being late for our reservation for the full forty minutes we waited for a table, having lost our reservation. The hostess made a point of telling every customer who came in after us and inquired about timing for a table, that we were late and they would go ahead of us. We patiently waited to be seated at a table for our large group and were promised a certain table that we being cleared. In the meantime, they ushered us to a very tight table and literally slammed the menus down on our table. When we realized we could not all fit in the newly designated table, we asked about the other table we had been promised when we were waiting. We were then told there was another large group, the same size as ours and they would be seated at the more spacious table. They unapologetically marched the new group right ahead of us, as we sat jammed into a table for a party of a much smaller size. Realizing we would be punished the rest of the night for having arrived late, we left and had a fabulous meal with excellent service with a wait staff that truly appreciated our business and were very professional! Try upstairs at Nancy's and skip Smoke n Bones.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    8
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Just Awful!”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Ribs tasted several weeks old and were cloyingly greasy. It is worse than any Vineyard restaurant and I know them all well. The Memphis ribs do not even resemble a dry rub. I can't fathom how they stay in business. Avoid!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“We've been many, many times and have always been happy...”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We visit Martha's Vineyard regularly and probably eat at S&B once or twice each summer, in addition to doing take out on another occasion or two. Tastes in BBQ (and cornbread, and beans, and onion rings, and cole slaw) vary, surely, but we have never been unhappy with anything we have ordered, adults or kids. Well, maybe the corn on the cob was a bit over-cooked...But the smoky chicken and wet ribs (our favorites) are wonderful, and the cornbread serves for breakfast for days afterwards. We have always found the service thoughtful and helpful and while the wine-by-the-glass can be pricey, the beer is perfectly reasonable. We will go back again!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quenames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We visited here May 19th 2011 and had the Wet & Dry Combo. The food was very good and the service was fantastic. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brainerdcityguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“a rip off”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Beautiful scenery, cold staff, waitress added 18% gratuity to bill without warning and added extra drinks and extra sides that we did not order, then refused to give us a receipt. Food was tasteless and at times like raw meat. Chicken wings would not pull apart. Cole Slaw was lousy. I never thought that KFC could be a relief and a welcome sight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoke 'N Bones also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing