We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Dogs are allowed after 5 PM!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Bluffs Town Beach

Oak Bluffs Town Beach
Ranked #14 of 36 things to do in Oak Bluffs
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Dogs are allowed after 5 PM!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Beach is ok, though I favored other beaches in MV (especially Aquinnah). What made this beach special to me is the ability to bring dogs after 5 pm!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roberta_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I loved the beach. It has a 4 mile long with a walking path
I didn't like the fact that the beach was broken up by some rocky shore line so you couldn't walk the distance on the beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
175 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is probably the worst beach I have ever been on anywhere!

Signs saying no dogs were obviously ignored on a regular basis the evidence was clear to see and we saw several people walking their dogs on the beach too.

There was litter everywhere which I have to say was unusual in my experience for a beach in USA.

The sea wall WAS COVERED IN SPRAY PAINT that is in the bits that were still standing.

Well worth avoiding

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFramed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“jumped off the bridge from Jaws!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Calm clean waters, great for the whole family. Our teens jumped off the bridge where Jaws was filmed. Very cool.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amyspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Nice beach, a bit rocky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Plenty of room to choose your spot, but it attracts lots and lots of people each day. Get here early in the morning (before 10 or so and you're likely to have most of the beach to yourself - at least for a few minutes. The shoreline was a bit rocky, but tolerable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Bluffs Town Beach also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Oak Bluffs Town Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing