We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly and much more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Island Inn
Ranked #8 of 15 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and much more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I was on a road trip for the one day. It so happened that this hotel had the last room to rent after you know who was there. Hint, hint, lots of secret service. Mary Jo kept the light on for us as we arrived after office hours. We still received a warm welcome. She along with the security guard made sure we settled in. To our surprise we were given a duplex suite. It was very clean and comfortable. It is tucked away from all the hustle and bustle of the town. I was able to swim laps in the pool. My only problem is that a breakfast is not included. I think they need to work on that for the future. I would definitely return there

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 548Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    13
    12
    13
See reviews for
46
32
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Island Inn was the ideal place for our family to stay for 4 nights. The studio apartment had sufficient room for us. Kitchen well equipped and functional. Ensuite bedroom did the job very well. Housekeeping were in each day cleaning and tidying. Located not far from town of oaks bluff. What I was really impressed with was honesty of all staff. We accidentally left jewellery of considerable value in a bedside drawer. Didn't realise til we got home to uk. I phoned and was relieved to hear housekeeping had stowed it away in the safe. Mary Jo one of the hotels management went to all sorts of trouble to find the best way of insuring and shipping it back to us. It arrived today! It's good to stay somewhere you can be sure is trustworthy. Well done!

Room Tip: Visit the Island View's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

I spent three days at the Island Inn with my family. We had a two bedroom suite with a kitchenette that was perfect. It had a back door also so we could get easy access to our car in parking lot. Mary Jo and Ashley were the office managers and they were always available and friendly! Anytime we went to the office to get something, they were there to help us.

The rooms were very, very clean. The decor was good, even though the rugs were a bit worn. The beds were comfortable. We had a two bedroom: one with a queen bed and one with two twin beds. There was also a pull out queen bed in couch in living room. We didn't have to use it but the mattress was a bit thin. There was a really nice kitchenette with pots and pans. The suite was air conditioned and the grounds were very well-kept. Sitting outside was a pleasure.

We went mid week (T,W,Th) and it was quieter than the weekend. We were able to eat breakfast together around the pool with hardly any interruption from other guests! There were also tennis courts that seemed to be very busy, but we don't play tennis so it wasn't an issue.

The Inn is right on Beach Road, so if you don't have a car, you can walk to at least 3 local beaches that are right on the road! And the bike path is also right there. The bus stops on that main road, so you can get into town pretty easily. Or you could walk; it would be at least 30 mins to walk into Oak Bluffs. But there are buses and cabs available all the time!

I would recommend this place to everyone. It was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

I would never stay here again. First of all, it is 1.5 miles from the center of Oak Bluff so it is not convenient if you need to run quickly to grab a snack and something to drink. It has vending machines, but they do not work. Also, the rooms were really run-down. The rugs had burnt cigarette holes in the carpet. There were only 2 outlets in which to plug things in like phones or coffee pot. We could not re-charge 2 phones at the same time. The room had a musty smell. You could tell the place had not been renovated since the 1970s.
Worst of all the bed was so uncomfortable. I did not sleep the 2 nights I was there because the bed was hard and it creaked every time I moved. The pillows were also thin and hard too. For $250/night, one would expect at least a continental breakfast in the office, but NO. Nothing!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NonnieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

When we booked our trip to Martha's Vineyard we had checked out a bunch of places, After talking to the exceptional staff, they had filled me in on all the amenities they had to offer ! When we got off the ferry we were under a mile to the hotel ( very close ) to everything Oak Bluffs has to offer. When we checked in they had upgraded our room for no additional fee, Rooms were clean a bit outdated but still had that cape cod island feel . Our room had a living room and a little kitchenette that was fully stocked with all the essentials that one would need. I recommend Island Inn to anyony that wants to stay somewhere close to everything without breaking the bank !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nestled between Oak Bluff and Edgartown, this resort boasts expansive green areas for your pet and includes pet waste bags throughout the property. Amenities include swimming pool, tennis courts, volleyball, playground, restaurant with unique dining menu and decor, golfing next to the property, walking distance to Joseph Sylvia State Park, where you can fish, swim, kayak, biking located on bike path. The staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, modern, a/c, fully equipped kitchen, quiet, reasonably price. Only negative is the wi-fi access and cable was not reliable, if you rely these services. Short driving distance to Oak Bluffs and Edgartown for shopping, restaurants and activities.

Room Tip: Townhouse #40, view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpiontravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have come to The Vineyard for thirty years and love it. That said, it's hard to write a negative review. We just concluded a stay at Island Inn and can't recommend it. When you go to the trouble of making ferry reservations assuming your hotel "confirmation" is solid and find when you get there that is not the case, you are in trouble.....especially on July 4th weekend. That is precisely the case we found out when our confirmation for a 2BR/2BA was not the case. The management apologized, acknowledged the error but offered us two units where our two sons were housed in separate units in buildings far apart from us. Not what we envisioned for a family vacation. The property is tired and has significant deferred maintenance. It has a very campy feel to it and it is no mistake that the hotel website has few accommodation pictures. Both "units" we stayed in were either long and dark or on the bottom floor of a two decker with a leaky refrigerator. Both units had very old furniture (sleeper sofa/chairs/tables/kitchenette). There are much better choices on the island. Frankly, it is a rather depressing property on a delightful island. It's also not cheap. Move on and look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyAndLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
4.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oak Bluffs Inn
Oak Bluffs Inn
#1 of 15 in Oak Bluffs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Oak Bluffs
Island Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing