We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Island Inn, friendly and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Island Inn, friendly and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I spent three days at the Island Inn with my family. We had a two bedroom suite with a kitchenette that was perfect. It had a back door also so we could get easy access to our car in parking lot. Mary Jo and Ashley were the office managers and they were always available and friendly! Anytime we went to the office to get something, they were there to help us.

The rooms were very, very clean. The decor was good, even though the rugs were a bit worn. The beds were comfortable. We had a two bedroom: one with a queen bed and one with two twin beds. There was also a pull out queen bed in couch in living room. We didn't have to use it but the mattress was a bit thin. There was a really nice kitchenette with pots and pans. The suite was air conditioned and the grounds were very well-kept. Sitting outside was a pleasure.

We went mid week (T,W,Th) and it was quieter than the weekend. We were able to eat breakfast together around the pool with hardly any interruption from other guests! There were also tennis courts that seemed to be very busy, but we don't play tennis so it wasn't an issue.

The Inn is right on Beach Road, so if you don't have a car, you can walk to at least 3 local beaches that are right on the road! And the bike path is also right there. The bus stops on that main road, so you can get into town pretty easily. Or you could walk; it would be at least 30 mins to walk into Oak Bluffs. But there are buses and cabs available all the time!

I would recommend this place to everyone. It was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    34
    12
    11
    11
See reviews for
39
29
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I would never stay here again. First of all, it is 1.5 miles from the center of Oak Bluff so it is not convenient if you need to run quickly to grab a snack and something to drink. It has vending machines, but they do not work. Also, the rooms were really run-down. The rugs had burnt cigarette holes in the carpet. There were only 2 outlets in which to plug things in like phones or coffee pot. We could not re-charge 2 phones at the same time. The room had a musty smell. You could tell the place had not been renovated since the 1970s.
Worst of all the bed was so uncomfortable. I did not sleep the 2 nights I was there because the bed was hard and it creaked every time I moved. The pillows were also thin and hard too. For $250/night, one would expect at least a continental breakfast in the office, but NO. Nothing!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NonnieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

When we booked our trip to Martha's Vineyard we had checked out a bunch of places, After talking to the exceptional staff, they had filled me in on all the amenities they had to offer ! When we got off the ferry we were under a mile to the hotel ( very close ) to everything Oak Bluffs has to offer. When we checked in they had upgraded our room for no additional fee, Rooms were clean a bit outdated but still had that cape cod island feel . Our room had a living room and a little kitchenette that was fully stocked with all the essentials that one would need. I recommend Island Inn to anyony that wants to stay somewhere close to everything without breaking the bank !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nestled between Oak Bluff and Edgartown, this resort boasts expansive green areas for your pet and includes pet waste bags throughout the property. Amenities include swimming pool, tennis courts, volleyball, playground, restaurant with unique dining menu and decor, golfing next to the property, walking distance to Joseph Sylvia State Park, where you can fish, swim, kayak, biking located on bike path. The staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, modern, a/c, fully equipped kitchen, quiet, reasonably price. Only negative is the wi-fi access and cable was not reliable, if you rely these services. Short driving distance to Oak Bluffs and Edgartown for shopping, restaurants and activities.

Room Tip: Townhouse #40, view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpiontravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have come to The Vineyard for thirty years and love it. That said, it's hard to write a negative review. We just concluded a stay at Island Inn and can't recommend it. When you go to the trouble of making ferry reservations assuming your hotel "confirmation" is solid and find when you get there that is not the case, you are in trouble.....especially on July 4th weekend. That is precisely the case we found out when our confirmation for a 2BR/2BA was not the case. The management apologized, acknowledged the error but offered us two units where our two sons were housed in separate units in buildings far apart from us. Not what we envisioned for a family vacation. The property is tired and has significant deferred maintenance. It has a very campy feel to it and it is no mistake that the hotel website has few accommodation pictures. Both "units" we stayed in were either long and dark or on the bottom floor of a two decker with a leaky refrigerator. Both units had very old furniture (sleeper sofa/chairs/tables/kitchenette). There are much better choices on the island. Frankly, it is a rather depressing property on a delightful island. It's also not cheap. Move on and look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyAndLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room was great, clean and well layed out. The staff was nice and helpful and the area was for the most part pretty quiet. If you are looking to be able to connect to the Wifi wait until next week. They say the guy is coming to fix it. As we were just looking to relax it was a nice place to be. Next time we would probably bring more people as we definitely had the space! Definitely not a king bed though??

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jostergren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed here in the past and had an excellent time - the rooms offer a second floor with King bed that is really great for families. We liked it so much during our first stay that we returned again this past week. Unfortunately, we had numerous issues this time around. For one thing, our room was not cleaned the first day despite having put the "Service Please" sign on the door. We went to the office to find out what happened, and the cleaning girl said she would "head over right away to take care of it." However, when she arrived at the room, she said they were getting off work in 5 minutes and it would have to wait until tomorrow. This is really unacceptable. If it was 9pm at night, we would have understood but it was 4:55 and they couldn't stay a couple minutes late just to make the beds? Furthermore, both the TV and phone did not work. The manager came over to replace the cable box so it worked after that but nobody enjoys spending their vacation time sorting out these issues. All of the vending machines on the property are out of order. I don't know why they bother having them there if they don't work. Finally, on our last day, we went to use the pool and were told we couldn't go in because it was being cleaned. Opening time is 9am and we were there at 9. At 9:40, when we were still told we couldn't go in, I went to the office to tell them it is unfair we cannot use the pool when we are paying for this stay. So the girl came out to talk to the cleaning guy and he just starts yelling about he doesn't have enough help and that "we can swim in a dirty pool if we want" HORRIBLE customer service. Maybe he is overworked because it wasn't quite busy season and maybe management is trying to cut the costs with fewer staff on hand but it was just inappropriate in so many ways. After all of this, I was expecting something along the lines of an apology and saying they'd really like us to come again but there was nothing. No effort at all to keep us as customers. And mind you, the first 3-4 nights of our stay, there was NO ONE else in the condos. In fact, housekeeping had left all the doors ajar (another issue we had to raise with management). You would think they would appreciate their paying customers when they are not that full but I guess not. It is a shame, we really liked staying here and now feel like we may have to look elsewhere for our next vineyard trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
4.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Narragansett House
Narragansett House
#6 of 16 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Oak Bluffs
Island Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing