We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Island Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 Oak Bluffs B&B and Inns
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Island Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

When we booked our trip to Martha's Vineyard we had checked out a bunch of places, After talking to the exceptional staff, they had filled me in on all the amenities they had to offer ! When we got off the ferry we were under a mile to the hotel ( very close ) to everything Oak Bluffs has to offer. When we checked in they had upgraded our room for no additional fee, Rooms were clean a bit outdated but still had that cape cod island feel . Our room had a living room and a little kitchenette that was fully stocked with all the essentials that one would need. I recommend Island Inn to anyony that wants to stay somewhere close to everything without breaking the bank !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    13
    12
    12
See reviews for
45
32
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nestled between Oak Bluff and Edgartown, this resort boasts expansive green areas for your pet and includes pet waste bags throughout the property. Amenities include swimming pool, tennis courts, volleyball, playground, restaurant with unique dining menu and decor, golfing next to the property, walking distance to Joseph Sylvia State Park, where you can fish, swim, kayak, biking located on bike path. The staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, modern, a/c, fully equipped kitchen, quiet, reasonably price. Only negative is the wi-fi access and cable was not reliable, if you rely these services. Short driving distance to Oak Bluffs and Edgartown for shopping, restaurants and activities.

Room Tip: Townhouse #40, view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpiontravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have come to The Vineyard for thirty years and love it. That said, it's hard to write a negative review. We just concluded a stay at Island Inn and can't recommend it. When you go to the trouble of making ferry reservations assuming your hotel "confirmation" is solid and find when you get there that is not the case, you are in trouble.....especially on July 4th weekend. That is precisely the case we found out when our confirmation for a 2BR/2BA was not the case. The management apologized, acknowledged the error but offered us two units where our two sons were housed in separate units in buildings far apart from us. Not what we envisioned for a family vacation. The property is tired and has significant deferred maintenance. It has a very campy feel to it and it is no mistake that the hotel website has few accommodation pictures. Both "units" we stayed in were either long and dark or on the bottom floor of a two decker with a leaky refrigerator. Both units had very old furniture (sleeper sofa/chairs/tables/kitchenette). There are much better choices on the island. Frankly, it is a rather depressing property on a delightful island. It's also not cheap. Move on and look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyAndLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

The room was great, clean and well layed out. The staff was nice and helpful and the area was for the most part pretty quiet. If you are looking to be able to connect to the Wifi wait until next week. They say the guy is coming to fix it. As we were just looking to relax it was a nice place to be. Next time we would probably bring more people as we definitely had the space! Definitely not a king bed though??

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jostergren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed here in the past and had an excellent time - the rooms offer a second floor with King bed that is really great for families. We liked it so much during our first stay that we returned again this past week. Unfortunately, we had numerous issues this time around. For one thing, our room was not cleaned the first day despite having put the "Service Please" sign on the door. We went to the office to find out what happened, and the cleaning girl said she would "head over right away to take care of it." However, when she arrived at the room, she said they were getting off work in 5 minutes and it would have to wait until tomorrow. This is really unacceptable. If it was 9pm at night, we would have understood but it was 4:55 and they couldn't stay a couple minutes late just to make the beds? Furthermore, both the TV and phone did not work. The manager came over to replace the cable box so it worked after that but nobody enjoys spending their vacation time sorting out these issues. All of the vending machines on the property are out of order. I don't know why they bother having them there if they don't work. Finally, on our last day, we went to use the pool and were told we couldn't go in because it was being cleaned. Opening time is 9am and we were there at 9. At 9:40, when we were still told we couldn't go in, I went to the office to tell them it is unfair we cannot use the pool when we are paying for this stay. So the girl came out to talk to the cleaning guy and he just starts yelling about he doesn't have enough help and that "we can swim in a dirty pool if we want" HORRIBLE customer service. Maybe he is overworked because it wasn't quite busy season and maybe management is trying to cut the costs with fewer staff on hand but it was just inappropriate in so many ways. After all of this, I was expecting something along the lines of an apology and saying they'd really like us to come again but there was nothing. No effort at all to keep us as customers. And mind you, the first 3-4 nights of our stay, there was NO ONE else in the condos. In fact, housekeeping had left all the doors ajar (another issue we had to raise with management). You would think they would appreciate their paying customers when they are not that full but I guess not. It is a shame, we really liked staying here and now feel like we may have to look elsewhere for our next vineyard trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

First time at MVY...wow going back...Inn was clean , staff was nice and very accomodating.. came in late no problem....easy walk to breakfast ...buses were fun and helpful...Edgartown was fun with great places to drink and eat...and have ice cream.....
going back and staying at the Island Inn

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unclelarry61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We loved our stay at the Island Inn! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with everything from navigating the island to assisting with taxis and bike rentals. We felt like we were staying in a resort, hidden from the world in an idyllic, peaceful setting. The grounds were expansive carpets of well-tended grass. When you step outside your room, you are greeted instantly by nature and the lulling sound of the breeze off the sea. The hotel has an onsite restaurant (Lola's), a laundry facility, a tennis court, volleyball net, outdoor pool and meeting rooms. We were located only a few minutes by car from Oak Bluffs, but there is a bus that comes every half hour and will stop directly in front of the hotel entrance. The only negatives were the beds (they are small, extremely squeaky and not so comfortable), the laundry facility (the dryer took two cycles to completely dry our clothes -- at $2/cycle, it cost us $4 just to dry one load of laundry), the vending machines (all four of them were out of order -- we were told they would be serviced the next day, but nothing happened), and the lack of rental equipment, such as bicycles, which would have made getting into town much easier. I would definitely come back to this place for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyWfromWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Bluffs
2.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
4.2 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#2 of 4 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Summercamp Hotel
Summercamp Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
3.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn

Property: Island Inn
Address: 30 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02557
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Oak Bluffs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Bluffs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Oak Bluffs
Island Inn Oak Bluffs, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing