We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi is to die for.”
Review of Lookout Tavern

Lookout Tavern
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Called Lookout Tavern for a reason, the establishment has one of THE best water views on Martha's Vineyard! Overlooking the Nantucket Sound, the Lookout Tavern caters to both sea and land lovers alike. Known for it's amazing sushi, raw bar and seafood, Lookout also offers diners great sandwiches and burgers.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sushi is to die for.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Sushi is fresh made and delish! Drink menu is large with great beer, wine, or cocktail options. Our server Mike was both funny and fast with our food, drinks, check, etc. AND THE VIEWS!!! Not just the ocean, but the people watching is great.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank moynihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    157
    45
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“New twist on an old favorite!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A new twist on my favorite sushi place. (also good raw bar, cooked seafood and many non-fish menu items) Great water view, recent renovations and great service. We have been here many times, we live less than a mile away and probably eat here 6-8 times a summer. Especially appreciate that the staff is not the least bit arrogant unlike neighboring restaurants. Last night we came in late and sat at the end of the bar, facing the kitchen probably the worst seat in the house BUT I had a front row seat to all of the food handling. Large staff, bartenders, waitresses, raw bar guy, sushi chef, kitchen staff... IMPECCABLE FOOD HANDLING Not one mishandled item. A new level of comfort for me with an old favorite.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heirai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh my goodness, oh my dayum!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Bloody marys so good you'll forget about every other BM you ever had. Chicken in Paradise is a delight to the taste buds--dayum, dayum, dayum!!. Great casual atmosphere that will make you think you are in the keys. Highly recommended!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank turbocon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun spot, Great Sushi”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

During our recent day trip to MV, we stopped for lunch at the Lookout Tavern. I was looking for sushi, and some locals recommended the tavern. I am rather difficult to please in the sushi department, and I have to say, although extremely pricey,( as with everything on the island) I was not disappointed! My concern is always freshness, and they were making and serving so much, there is no way it couldn't be fresh! The rolls were of a good size as well. My friends ordered burgers and salads, they were pleased as well.

The place was busy. It's pretty small and cramped, but offers a beautiful view of the ocean and offers a lot of outdoor seating. The service was so so, not the friendliest, and pretty slow, but that's pretty common on the island.

Overall, I would recommend The Lookout Tavern for food and drinks...especially if you are looking for good sushi.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tj61874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stopped in for a drink while we waited for the ferry. Had the Spicy Tuna Roll with a few draft beers. Was crowded mid afternoon on a Thursday, but service was great. Has an open porch with Views of the sound.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank daveandmarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lookout Tavern also viewed

 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Lookout Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing