We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reasonable prices”

The Red Cat Kitchen at Ken N' Beck
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a casual place with upscale food at reasonable prices (for this quality of food). We split three small plates, and everything was delicious. One caveat - it's really, really crowded.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravenclaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    88
    38
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoriaville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yes, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

How about having a great dinner but being told at the end that "sorry, we serve no coffee nor tea" ? A good way to make sure you leave quickly for the next guests! Coitus interruptus...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jnri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We've been waiting so long for a twenty-first century restaurant to appear on MV (one of our favourite places), and it finally appeared in the shape of the Red Cat Kitchen. Got over to the island for a four day trip and went along on a Sunday night only to find it was going to be a 90 minute wait - bad news, as we were starving. The maitress d' seemed genuinely sorry not to be able to seat us - which made a nice change from so many other restaurants - and faced with our crestfallen faces took pity on us and managed to squeeze us in, which was extremely nice of her. Loved the mismatched, cabin-y decor - very hip. And there was a great atmosphere, everyone really seemed to be enjoying themselves - including us by this time, as we tucked into delicious cocktails and a selection from the small but well chosen wine list. Shared the roasted beets - very tasty - and then we had tempura black bass and a really outstanding swordfish. Service was excellent, very well-paced, friendly but professional. One of those places you'd be happy to eat almost every night. Nice job, RCK.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClareBriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Get the steak.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great little island restaurant full of local delight on the menu, one of the best dinners I've had in a while. Can't wait to go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJhawk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food on the Island with a funky atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently ate at State Road which is often said to have the best food on the Vineyard and we thought Red Cat was much better. More imaginative dishes and perfectly prepared.

As an added bonus the restaurant itself has a very funky/edgy vibe and is a nice departure from the white-linen tablecloth trappings of most of the high end places on the island.

You can go cheap and have a great burger and some apps, or treat yourself to a more "fancy" night out style meal with one of their entrees.

The chef (who I think is also the owner) really seems to enjoy his work and was very gracious and appreciative of the thanks we gave him for the outstanding meal. We can't wait to go back and try the chefs tasting menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skippypinwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Cat Kitchen at Ken N' Beck also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to The Red Cat Kitchen at Ken N' Beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing