We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect dining experience and...”

The Red Cat Kitchen at Ken N' Beck
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Oak Bluffs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
1 review
“Perfect dining experience and...”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you eat at no other rest on the Vineyard THIS is the place to go. Exquisite food, professional staff, great place to meet interesting people. We have eaten here three nights in a row on vacation- the Yellow Fin tuna, the blue fin tuna, the sea bass and lobster risotto were all out of this world! We will go back next year!!!!! Chocolate creme brûlée was fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydiamahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    88
    38
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
“Postcard dinner...”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

So many variables go in to making a memorable meal: the menu, the food, atmosphere, location, great company, or even some intangible. So, when a restaurant gets the equation right, it's worth writing a review.
Last night 5 of us gathered to celebrate a birthday. Our last-minute reservation turned into one of the most memorable meals of the year. From Chef Ben's creative menu of locally sourced island ingredients, to the lively-yet-comfortable atmosphere of the dining room, to some downright delicious dishes, this restaurant delivers the quintessential Vineyard dining experience. NOT TO BE MISSED are the Island Fresca and the Gnocchi for Adelaide
Take it from a family of foodies, no trip to the Vineyard is complete without a visit to Ken N'Beck.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super Casual and Super Delicious”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a tiny, very casual restaurant that looks like it would be serving burgers. I read reviews (thanks Trip Advisor reviewers) and knew it was serving real meals. The menu is sophisticated and smart. I had seared monkfish on an island of mashed potatoes surrounded by a light and summery broth with some summer vegetables that was delicious and interesting. My husband, needing beef after a week of seafood, had a steak with mashed potatoes, mushrooms in rich reduction sauce. The bread was excellent. We had traditional strawberry shortcake for dessert. The drinks were good. The music was loud but fine because it was a favorite of ours. The wait staff is friendly and knowledgeable. It was a lovely evening. I hope the locals support this place because it should be a year round restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gwaltney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Must see on the Vineyard!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Unbelievably creative presentations and solid ingredients create one if the best meals I have had a anywhere.

The freshness if the local ingredients is evident in each dish.

The Brussels sprouts are not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigMaduros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vieques
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were walk ins on a Monday night here when the hostess gave us quite an attitude about not having a reservations. Just two of us, no big deal. She looked at her seating chart for about 3 minutes and then proceeded to seat us and state "but you have to be gone by 8" as she sat us. No offense, but that was quite rude. I understand that there was a reservation for 8pm and she needed our table, but there could be a nicer way to state that. The atmosphere was great, I love the decorations and music. It seemed a bit hectic, and kid of strange to be able to hear the expediter calling for a runner every few minutes. We had some great cocktails, service was ok, and the food was fine. Nothing I would rave about, my chicken seems a bit burnt in the fryer and the pork was cold in the center. I would go back i the future just to see if we would be treated as rudely as we were the first time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MillyVieques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Cat Kitchen at Ken N' Beck also viewed

Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
Oak Bluffs, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to The Red Cat Kitchen at Ken N' Beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing